Volume 2 Chapter 1

←Previous Chapter TOC Next Chapter→

Noon. University’s Cafeteria…

“Your first date, huh? This is something worth celebrating, Takumi”

When I told him about what had happened in the morning, a smile appeared on the face of the person sitting in front of me, Satoya.

Satoya Ringou.

Sex: Male.

Even though he’s a fashionista, today he was wearing a normal men’s outfit. He only cross-dresses outside of campus, but inside he always dresses like a man. It seems that he’s annoyed when they think he’s some sort of double or fake when they take attendance.

Although… He doesn’t really like the term “crossdressing.”

He himself said it wasn’t crossdressing, he simply liked to wear cute clothes that fit him.

Instead of fussing over gender stereotypes, he simply wears clothes he likes and enjoys makeup and painting his nails. That kind of unisex fashion seems to be his calling.

He looks like a slender beauty when he dresses up like a girl, but that doesn’t mean he likes men.

He likes girls and even has a girlfriend.

“This date marks the turning point on whether or not you can steal the heart of your precious Ayako-san. Maybe this is a crucial point in your life.”

“…I’m not amused at how much you’re treating this as someone else’s problem.”

“But it’s not mine, you know? Nothing is more interesting than other people’s romances. If you don’t get involved too much, the show is even more entertaining to watch.” Satoya replied happily and I sighed deeply.

Since he found out about my feelings for Ayako-san, he’s always been like that.

Half teasing, half interested.

He was enjoying my love life as if it were a show.

With a frivolous and unconcerned attitude… Although, I’m not really complaining. Actually, I’d be more ashamed if he cared more than necessary and supported me seriously.

Because my love life is my own after all.

And although he doesn’t ever look like he’s serious, if you ask him for advice, he would answer seriously. Just the other day when I was depressed, he tried inviting me to the movies to cheer me up after being rejected. He’s undoubtably a kind and reliable friend.

“…I know perfectly well that I have to do my best.” I said, as if trying to convince myself. “I can’t allow myself to waste this rare opportunity that was just presented to me. That’s why I wanted to ask you for some advice.”

“Advice, huh? Honestly… I’m not confident enough to help you out.” Said Satoya, making a defeated pose. “As you can see, I’m a handsome guy, and of course, have always been very popular… But I’ve only dated women my age. I’ve never experienced or considered going out with a woman over thirty.”

“…I see.”

“I can tell you how to have a date with a university girl, but I don’t know how to please an adult woman… Well, if it’s about a date between adults… At least in that area, I can tell you that a car is a must.”

“…I guess you’re right.”

I lowered my head, depressed.

We lived in a local city on the Tohoku region.

A place where the normal wasn’t one car per family, but rather, one per person.

Unlike other big cities where you can go anywhere on train or taxi, cars were the common transportation method in this area.

When you become a member of society, it’s natural to have your own car.

Even some university students have one.

And those guys are popular.

University students with cars are really popular just with that.

Well… if you mess up, you could end up becoming the convenient luggage carrier and designated driver in your circle of friends.

“Takumi, do you have a license?”

“Yeah, I got it last year during summer break. So… I was thinking of renting a car for that day.”

“Renting a car, huh? I don’t think you need to go that far, but… Hmm… I don’t know. I’ll try to ask some girls about it.”

“I’m sorry and thanks.”

“Don’t mind it. You’re always helping me out after all. I don’t know how many credits I would’ve lost last year if it wasn’t for you. Besides.”

“Besides?”

“I want you to be happy.” Said Satoya with a smile. “Other people’s romances are the most entertaining shows… so I’d like to see a happy ending too.”

“Satoya…”

I was extremely happy after hearing those words.

I was lucky to have such a great friend.

“Thanks, I’ll do my best.”

“Good. Ah… But you know, Takumi… This may sound contradictory… But I don’t think it’s a good idea to get too excited.”

Satoya really said the complete opposite to what he said before.

“Having a date with the person you’ve loved for years… I understand that you’re excited and that you’ll feel pressed to make everything go perfectly. But I don’t think you should press yourself too much. Ayako-san will get tired of being with you if you’re always like that, so you should take it a bit easy.”

“…”

I know.

There’s nothing more embarrassing than a desperate and tense man.

What Satoya said was right, but…

“I know… but I can’t take it easy.”

“…”

“It’s just that… Well… For a long time, I’ve wanted to have a date with Ayako-san… to make her see me as a man.”

For the last 10 years.

I’ve fantasized about it over and over keeping my hopes up.

That someday I’d go on a date with Ayako-san.

Certainly, I was happy to be loved like a son or a little brother… But at the same time, I couldn’t help but feel some sort of hollowness.

It was painful and heartrending when she patted my head with a smile on her face without embarrassment nor nervousness.

We weren’t going out yet, but I think I’ve advanced a bit since the time she only saw me as a son.

I couldn’t help but be excited.

I couldn’t help but be anxious.

“This date… will definitely have to be a success.” I promised that to myself.

My first date with Ayako-san.

I couldn’t allow myself to mess it up.

“I’m home~.”

In the afternoon, after coming back from school, Miu got close to me while I was making dinner in the kitchen.

And just like I was expecting.

With cheerful steps.

And a wide smile on her face.

“I already found out, mom. You’re going out with Taku-nii this weekend, aren’t you?”

“…”

Uuuhhh… A-As I thought, she already knew.

When I replied this morning, I figured that Takkun was still walking with Miu at the time.

But I wanted to answer as soon as possible.

Since it already showed up as read, I thought that it would be wrong to take too long to reply… Besides.

The longer I took, the harder it would be to reply.

So instead of thinking too hard about what to do, I decided to answer under the heat of the moment.

“Going on a date is like a countdown for you two to start being a couple, you know?”

“W-What are you saying now…? That still… Well, that’s something else entirely.”

“Eh? Are you seriously saying that at this point, mom?”

“W-We don’t necessarily… have to be a couple to go on a date. And since he decided to invite me, it would be wrong to reject his invitation… Besides! I have some free time this weekend! Yeah! That! I have nothing else to do! That’s the main reason! Because I’m free!”

“Haah… Can you stop with the nonsense already?”

Miu lowered her shoulders, amazed at my prattling.

“By the way mom… What’s the deal with ‘Okay’? I know you replied with just that.”

“Eh… H-How do you know that?!”

“I was looking at Taku-nii’s phone when you replied, so I read it.”

“No way…”

“It’s kinda cute, you know? The typical cold answer to hide the fact that you’re actually really excited. On the other hand, you’re trying so hard to show that ‘you’re already used to this kind of thing’ that you just end up exposing your lack of experience more and more.”

“~~~!”

S-She saw right through me!

My daughter completely saw through my actual intentions!

Ah geez, what with this situation…?! It’s really embarrassing to have my daughter see right through me in these kind of things…!

“M-Miu, stop making fun of adults.” Suppressing my embarrassment, I switched to mother mode. “And it’s not like that… Yes, you’re completely wrong. You’re misunderstanding everything. Those 4 letters have a deep meaning that a high school student like you can’t understand. Yes, it’s a sophisticated tactic that only an adult woman that has been through the good and the bad can understand—”

“So a date between mom and Taku-nii, huh…”

…She didn’t listen to me at all.

Hey! Listen to me! Your mom is trying really hard to justify herself here, you know?

Stop ignoring me!

You’re so cruel Miu… Mom wants to cry…

“If the date goes well, your relationship will move forward quite a lot. Ah, by the way, you don’t have to come back home. You can just spend the night somewhere ♥.”

“W-What are you talking about?! I won’t spend the night anywhere! I’ll return home!”

“Eh…? That means that you’ll come here after the date…?! T-Then… I’ll stay at a friend’s house…”

“Why are you suddenly so considerate?!”

“Well… I’m trying to support you two, and I knew that it would happen in this house someday once you were alone… I just didn’t expect it to be so soon.”

“That’s why I asked you why you’re so considerate! We’re not spending the night outside and we’re not going to return here together! We’re… well… going to have a h-healthy date.”

“A healthy date…? What are you gonna do exactly?”

“Well… I don’t know… like having lunch together and talk… then return home before dinner.”

“What are you, a middle schooler?!”

“T-That’s fine! That’s enough for the first date!”

We both started heating up.

Miu kept staring at me with a look of amazement.

“In the first place… it won’t be you who’ll choose the date plan, but Taku-nii. Hasn’t he told you anything?”

“…Not yet. He said he’d contact me once he did.”

It looks like Takkun was thinking about the date plan right now, so everything I could do was to wait for him to contact me… But… W-What should I do?

What if he’s planning a night date?!

And in fact… he already booked a room in a hotel or something like that?!

A reservation at a hot springs’ inn, where they mistake us for a married couple, and there’s only one room left, and they place the futons right next to each other, and we initially sleep at the ends, but then we get closer while we sleep, like they do in romantic comedies…

No.

That’s impossible. No way that would happen.

Seriously, what am I thinking about?

Even if it’s a fantasy, it’s too much.

There’s no way that would happen.

Because the one who invited me… is none other than Takkun.

“…But, we’re talking about Takkun here, he would never suggest something strange. He worries a lot about me and you—Ah.”

“…Heeh.”

The corners of Miu’s lips got up after hearing me mutter my appreciation for Takkun.

“It looks like you trust Taku-nii a lot.”

“I-It’s not that! I didn’t mean it in that way…”

“You should just go out already.”

“Aaahhh…! Shut up, shut up!”

I felt I couldn’t win no matter what I said, so I decided to end the conversation as a way to escape.

“Hahaha. Well, whatever it is, I’m looking forward to it. I want to see how Taku-nii is gonna capture you in this date.” Said Miu happily.

‘Capture.’

Somehow, it was a weird thing to say.

That in this date… I would be captured.

By a boy 10 years younger, that is eccentric enough to fall in love with an old lady like me.

Takkun.

Takumi Aterazawa-kun.

The boy I knew since he was a kid, and hadn’t noticed at all, but to my surprise, it seems that he has been in love with me for 10 years.

Us 3 have gone out and had fun many times and I’ve even gone shopping alone with Takkun… But obviously, this was the first time we were formally going out together.

This was our first date.

“Oh, so you’re going to have a date with the rumored boy this weekend? I’m so envious of you.” The cheerful voice from Oinomori-san came from the other side of the line.

After I finished eating dinner and Miu went to her room in the second floor…

I was supposed to call her for some job-related things… but before I realized, the conversation shifted toward my love life.

Lately, the same thing keeps happening…

“I said something a little harsh last time, so I was wondering how you had been since then… But I’m happy to know that your relationship is developing well.”

“…Yes, well…”

Actually, we just had a lot of problems.

A big fuss happened.

But if we look at the end result, our relationship really started to develop.

“Geez… I seriously envy you Katsuragi-kun. I’d also like to have a date with a twenty year old university student. I’ve been pretty lonely lately due to a lack of good men.”

“Stop teasing me, please… I’m in a serious pinch here.”

“Hm? What’s the problem? Just go and have fun on the date.”

“I know, it’s just that I-I… I’m ashamed to say it, but I’m not really used to these kinds of things.”

“Ah… now that I think about it, you’re a single mother that has never had a couple. After you started taking care of Miu-chan, you didn’t date anyone and fully dedicated yourself to your work and being a mother.”

“T-That’s right… Uhm… Oinomori-san… W-What should a woman do when she gets invited to a date?” Hoping that it would help, I asked her, who had a lot of experience in love.

Well, maybe it’s not the best idea to ask a woman who has divorced 3 times already due to cheating, but even then, she knew more about love than me.

“Ahaha, you don’t have anything to worry about.” Oinomori-san said laughing, while my tension and anxiety were about to crush me. “If you can somehow get the man you like, then you need to prepare your strategy carefully… Although, this time it’s the opposite.”

“The opposite…?”

“The positions are reversed. A boy deeply in love with you is planning a date to conquer you.”

“He’s… U-uuhh…”

I felt incredibly embarrassed from her frank statement.

A boy that was so deeply in love with me planning a date to conquer me… I already knew that, but when she put it into words, I couldn’t help but be embarrassed.

“Katsuragi-kun, you don’t have anything to worry about. He’s the one thinking really hard about what to do, you just have to wait and let him court you.”

“…”

“You always have control in that relationship. It’s a wonderful situation if you think about it. You don’t have to do anything; you can just let him do the heavy lifting. And whether you go out with him or not, depends entirely on you. It’s like playing with the young man’s heart you have in your hands. In a certain way, I think that this is a situation many women wish for.”

“…I wish I could see it that way.”

Looking at it from the outside, it could seem like an enviable situation.

A single mother over her thirties like me was being courted by a young man.

And it wasn’t a half-assed love just for fun… Those were the serious and sincere feelings of his first love.

He had proposed a serious relationship, aiming at marriage.

“Hmm. Well, Katsuragi-kun, you’re a very serious woman, and I think you worry way too much because you have control on your side. That is difficult trump card to use for beginners, so I guess it’s too much for you.”

“…”

“If you compare it to Mahjong, it’s similar to a beginner trying to gather tiles for a menchin, but is overwhelmed the moment she’s missing a tile to finish her long awaited hand and doesn’t know what to do.” (TLN: I legit know nothing about Mahjong, hopefully what I wrote made sense, although being real, you probably don’t know either.)

“…Even if you compare it to mahjong…”

I knew the rules, so I understood what she was trying to say.

Menchin… short for the winning hand “Menzenchin Isshoku.”

It’s a high scoring hand that requires all the tiles in your hand to be the same color. But the menchin… was really hard to get. There’s no doubt that a beginner wouldn’t know what to do missing just one tile and end up being overwhelmed.

Resulting in a double meaning “tenpai.” (TLN: When you’re 1 tile away from winning by either getting the required tile to win or by discarding 1 tile. I think the reference is supposed to be “resulting in the person possibly messing up a winning hand.”)

For an experienced person, it’s a great opportunity, but for a beginner, just a source of confusion.

Just like… me right now.

I had a far too advantageous position… so advantageous in fact that I didn’t know what to do.

“You could have also rejected the invitation. Wouldn’t have been a bad idea to wait and see how he’d react to know how much control you have on your side.”

“I-I can’t do that. I just can’t do something like that.”

“Furthermore,” I continued.

“I… Don’t want to run away anymore.”

Ever since Takkun confessed… I’ve been unconsciously running away.

I tried to pretend that I didn’t listen to his confession, even tried to get him to hate me so that he would lose interest in me.

I’ve been running away pathetically all this time.

But.

I made up my mind. I won’t run away any longer.

No matter what happens in the future… Whether we start dating or not, I won’t run away.

I’ll face him properly, acknowledge his feelings and give him an answer.

That… I think that’s the least I should do for the man that has loved me for 10 years.

“…The fact that I’m postponing my answer, as if I’m half escaping, I’m conscious of how unfair I’m being. Therefore… I don’t want to play with his feelings anymore. I want to answer his feelings without running away.”

“…Fufu, hahaha…” After a brief silence, Oinomori-san laughed out loud. “I love how innocent you are. That’s exactly what I like about you, Ayako Katsuragi.”

“…Was that a compliment?”

“Of course it was. It’s much more wonderful that you act as yourself than to pretend to be an adult.” She said happily. “But if you don’t want to try anything underhanded, then I can only give you one advice.” Oinomori-san continued. “Have fun.”

That was… a surprisingly simple advice.

“It’s a special date. Don’t worry about trivial things and have fun. As if you were in your twenties… No, enjoy your youth as if you were an adolescent once more.”

“…”

“I’m sure that he also wants that.”

“…I guess so.” Nodding, I lightly sighed. “Alright, I won’t think about it too hard and just have fun.”

“That’s better. Although… That probably went without saying.”

Her tone was blatantly mocking.

“From what you’ve been saying, it looked like you were trying to adhere to formalities… But I can tell by your behavior and voice… That you’re actually really excited, Katsuragi-kun.”

“What?”

“Nothing to be ashamed of. No matter your age, it’s always nice and thrilling to be invited on a date.”

“W-Wait, Oinomori-san.”

“Hahaha, don’t be embarrassed. Well, I wish you luck, goodbye~.” She laughed teasingly and hung up.

I fell on the sofa with the phone on my hand.

“…U-Uuhh… Geez… Saying whatever she wants at the end.”

My face got red and my thoughts stopped.

And bitter words came out from my mouth.

“But… I can’t help it. I’m really looking forward to it.”

The moment I said it… I felt a tremendous feeling of embarrassment.

I’m looking forward to it.

Yes, that’s right.

I think I’m starting to look forward to it.

My first date with Takkun.

I was tense and anxious… but at the same time, I also had some expectation.

Although I said it was my duty, that I didn’t want to run away anymore and all those things… In the end, I guess I was really looking forward to the date.

I was excited to see what kind of date Takkun would propose and even imagined several situations on my own that made my heart beat faster…

“~~~~~!”

Aaaah, stop!

I’m so disgusting!

I’m already over thirty.

I’m an old lady.

And despite that… a date was enough to make me feel incredibly nervous, confused and… excited.

I was ashamed of myself.

That night…

Right after eating dinner with Miu, I got a message from Takkun.

Regarding the date this weekend.

About the place and meeting time.

I had no objections, so I replied with an alright.

I was so relieved that it wasn’t a call.

Had he called me, my voice would’ve shaken due to nervousness and excitement.

And… I thought that it would be the same for Takkun. It was also his first date, so his nervousness and excitement could be even bigger than mine.

While both of us were full of expectation, time passed calmly…

And finally, the day arrived.

We would have our memorable first date… or that was supposed to be the case.

But our date got up to an unexpected end.

No.

Rather, an unexpected start.

“It was really fun today, Ayako-san.”

“Yes, it was really fun, Takkun.”

After visiting a variety of dating spots during the day, we had dinner and we were now walking next to each other along the street in front of the sea with a beautiful night view.

While I was enjoying the view of the starry night, I cheerfully walked with small steps, thinking about what had happened in today’s date.

“Hey, Takkun… Was that really alright? That restaurant seemed to be really expensive. I’m sorry, I should’ve paid for my food after all.”

“It’s alright, don’t worry about that. I live with my parents, so I have nothing to spend my part time job’s salary… Besides, if I can make you happy with it, then it’s a good way to use that money.”

“Wha-… G-Geez,Takkun.”

Embarrassed, I lowered my head. Ah, I feel like I’m dreaming… I never thought I’d be able to enjoy a mature date with Takkun like this…

After that, we walked together in silence for a bit… But the next moment.

Something touched my fingers.

There was no need to think about what it was.

Takkun, who walked by my side, casually intertwined his fingers with mine.

So naturally and skillfully…

“Uh, ah…”

“I’m sorry, I did it without thinking.”

“W-Without thinking…?”

“If you dislike it, I’ll let go.”

“Ehh…? I-It’s not that I dislike it, but… Uuh…”

That’s unfair. It’s unfair to ask questions like that.

I couldn’t reply, so he simply kept holding my hand. His masculine and robust hand was much larger than mine. And with just intertwining our fingers, my heart started to beat like crazy.

Uuh, this isn’t good…

Not good at all. I’m so nervous that I’m about to go crazy.

And this atmosphere is really bad.

I mean… The mood is just too good!

The date is ending, we’re walking down a beautiful street at night next to the sea and Takkun is being a little assertive… I feel like I’m going to be dragged along by this mood…

“W-Well… we should get going already…” I said, trying to change the mood and freed my hand. “It’s too late already, and Miu is waiting for me, so…”

Making things up, I picked up the pace, and then…

A hug.

I was hugged from behind.

He surrounded me with his large arms and enveloped my body entirely.

“E-Eh… Ehhh?!”

I was in a panic… And he suddenly whispered on my ear.

With a lightly tense and shaky voice.

But irresistibly sweet.

“If I were to say I don’t want to go back yet… What would you do?”

“~~?!”

My thoughts overheated and my brain started to melt.

A starry sky, the night sea.

And… a man and a woman flirting.

The romantic background music was about to play.

“…Y-Y-You can’t, Takkun… My husband… well, I don’t have one. But I have a daughter I love… and well… she supports our relationship… B-But the underwear I’m wearing today… no, well, I actually came with a decent one… B-But, wait! I’m not just an easy woman that goes all the way on her first date—”

“…What are you doing, mom?”

My daughter’s voice woke me up.

Instead of being at a street next to the sea with a beautiful night view, it was morning and I was on my bed.

Miu looked at me amazed while I wallowed under my sheets.

“Eh… M-Miu?”

“Morning, mom.”

“G-Good morning… Eh? Why are you here…?”

“You weren’t waking up at all, so I came to do that. God, pull yourself together, please. Today is your long-awaited date with Taku-nii.”

Yes, that’s right.

Today… is my date with Takkun.

That’s why I couldn’t fall asleep last night… And I guess that’s why overslept.

I checked the time on my phone and it was past 8.

We were supposed to meet up at 10:30, so I should be able to get to the meeting spot with time to spare, but as a housewife, it was a terrible time to get up.

“You were moving around while you were saying ‘You can’t, Takkun’ in your dreams… What exactly were you dreaming about, mom?”

“…?! N-Nothing! N-Nothing at all! It was a completely normal dream!”

Miu asked me with a suspecting look, and all I could do was make up excuses forcefully.

Uuh…!

W-What kind of dreams am I having?!

Just because I have a date today… I can’t believe I ended up dreaming such a feminine fantasy like that.

And to top it off.

How do I say it… It was such an old-fashioned fantasy!

As if it were taken from an old drama!

He didn’t raise my chin or did a kabedon, but rather hugged me from the back…!

I-It’s really showing my age!

After all, it’s an unthinkable fantasy for a teenager or 20 year old!

It spelled Showa Era no matter how you looked at it! (TLN: 1926-1989)

“Well, whatever, good luck today.” Said Miu in a light tone while I was holding my head in agony. “And a reminder that you don’t need to worry about me, you don’t have to come back home at night. Just have fun~.”

“Wha… L-Like I said before, I’m not going to spend the… Listen to me…”

Without hearing my rebuttal, Miu went out of the room.

“…Haah.” I sighed deeply.

So many things have happened since I got up that I’m already tired. Haah, I’m nervous. Will I be able to handle today’s date like this…?

Despite almost being crushed by my anxiety, I got up from the bed, and fixed my bed hair with my hands.

I was about to change my sleepwear when…

I got a call from my phone which was next to my bed.

I looked at the screen and was surprised.

The person calling me wasn’t Takkun… but his mother.

Tomomi Aterazawa-san.

“H-Hello?”

“Hello, Ayako-san?”

“Yes, good morning, Tomomi-san.”

“Good morning, sorry about calling you so early.”

“It’s alright, don’t worry… Did something happen?”

“Uhm… I don’t know how to say this…” Tomomi-san hesitated. “Ayako-san, today… you were going on a date with our Takumi, right?”

“U-Uhm… Y-Yes…” I felt like it would be weird to deny it, so I had no choice but to say yes. Uuh… I’m so embarrassed. It’s so embarrassing to tell his mother that I’m going on a date with her son.

I felt ashamed and Tomomi-san said:

“About that… Could you cancel it?”

“…”

My nervousness disappeared in an instant. It was like they had dropped a bucket of cold water on me. My embarrassment disappeared and the temperature of my heart lowered. With a cool head, several thoughts flowed in an instant.

Ah…

I see. Of course, it makes complete sense.

How could I be so wrong?

Why was I so excited?

There’s no way that his parents would accept a relationship with an old lady like me. They certainly said they “acknowledged” me… But there’s nothing strange about changing your mind at the last minute.

They are within their rights to oppose him going out with me…

“…I understand. I’m sorry, I should have said no from the start. Sorry for the inconvenience.”

“Eh? W-What are you talking about, Ayako-san?” Tomomi-san sounded confused when she heard my apology. “I should be the one apologizing, I’m really sorry.”

“Eh?”

Eh? Why do I feel like I’m not getting the full picture?

“Despite taking the trouble to free up your time for him, and despite that, this boy…”

“Eh… Uhm, did something happen to Takkun?” I asked, and Tomomi-san replied with “This boy caught a fever and is sleeping right now.”

“…”

I was so surprised I was left speechless for a while.

And that was how our date reached an unexpected ending: “Canceled due to health problems.”

←Previous Chapter TOC Next Chapter→

5 thoughts on “Volume 2 Chapter 1

    1. Well, I guess “date” is too early so we’re going on that route~
      Also Ayako-san can show her mom skills to him~ :3

      Like

  1. That Bruh Moment, “It’a all just a dream”
    Well.. kinda know it’ll happen since this is gonna be a slow paced development so i’m not really expecting. for quick progress like this. But probably sickness develpment?

    Like

  2. “It’s like playing with the young man’s heart you have on your hands.” I’d say it’s rather “in your hands” in this case.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started