Volume 2 Chapter 4

←Previous Chapter TOC Next Chapter→

It was as if a sun ray had come out of nowhere.

It came uninvited in the middle of the day in a weekday.

“Yo~, it’s been a while, Katsuragi-kun.”

“Oinomori-san…”

When I opened the door, I couldn’t help but stay frozen in place.

A slender body like a model’s that matched very well with the brand jacket suit she was wearing.

She had an awkward curly hair in contrast to her slim fit formal suit. However, that wild look mixed strangely well with the suit, creating an unbalanced charm.

Even though she was over 40, her face was young and her skin soft.

But above all… her eyes…

Her ferocious eyes, which reminded me of a wolf’s, had not changed at all since we met.

Yumemi Oinomori.

CEO of the company ‘LightShip,’ which I work for.

“I got a meeting with Sora-sensei at night, so I thought about coming to visit you in the meantime.” Sitting in the sofa, Oinomori-san stated the motive of her visit.

Sora-sensei is an experienced illustrator that lives nearby. We’ve worked together several times and we get along pretty well.

“I don’t mind you coming… But I would like you to tell me beforehand if you were going to come.” I said, pouring her a cup of coffee prepared with a Dolce Gusto. “People generally don’t come uninvited in the middle of the day on a weekday.”

“I’m sorry, but I really wanted to see your surprised face, Katsuragi-kun.”

She apologized, although there was no regret on her face.

Haah… This person hasn’t changed at all.

She always does things at her own pace.

I don’t know how many times she has dragged me along everywhere with her ideas.

“Seriously though, we haven’t seen each other in a long time, Katsuragi-kun.” Said Oinomori-san, drinking the coffee while being deeply emotional. “It’s been half a year already, hasn’t it?”

“…That’s right. Although, since we call each other on the phone almost every day, it doesn’t feel as if a lot of time had passed.”

“Hahaha, true.”

‘LightShip.’

This is the company funded by Yumemi Oinomori, a charismatic editor that used to work for an important editorial. The range of jobs that the company does is so diverse that it’s difficult to explain… but it’s involved in several entertainment markets such as games, anime and light novels.

I joined the company ten years ago and I’m still working there.

Although for the most part, I work at home.

Sometimes I need to go somewhere else, but I mainly work in front of my computer at home and do most of my interactions through phone calls or emails.

That’s why it’s been a long time since we’ve seen each other.

Haah… And she doesn’t get old at all. I’m kind of jealous. No one would think she’s a forty year old. If she tried, she could make herself look like a twenty year old.

“After not seeing you for a while… you seem to have become a little softer, Katsuragi-kun.” Oinomori-san said with a pensive thought.

“Eh… Softer?”

“Yes. Like if you were meatier and rounder everywhere.”

“Are you talking about my figure?!”

It wasn’t in the emotional sense?!

Are you saying that I’m softer not in the metaphorical sense, but literally?!

“…Oinomori-san, even if you’re my boss, it’s sexual harassment to mention such delicate details. Isn’t it about time you go…?”

“I-I’m joking… Really, I am… You’re as hard as ever.”

After having a scared look for a bit:

“I wasn’t talking about your body, but your air. Well, you weren’t that hard to begin with… but I feel that your small gestures and presence have become more feminine than before, making you more attractive as a woman.” Said Oinomori-san.

Then stared directly at me with piercing eyes.

“Women become more beautiful when they’re in love after all.”

“Wha… I-I’m not in love with anyone…”

“Fufu, don’t be embarrassed.”

“I’m not embarrassed. In the first place… that thing about my air changing, it’s just what you want to think! You look at it that way because you think that I’m in love…”

“Hahaha, perhaps.”

I denied it desperately and she answered vaguely.

“Well, Katsuragi-kun. I don’t know if you’re in love, but there is definitely someone who is in love with you, isn’t it?”

“…”

“So, where is the rumored Takumi Aterazawa-kun right now?”

“…I-I think that he’s at home now… He wrote Miu in the morning… and told her he didn’t have to go to university today. Since they cancelled classes for today, he said he was going to stay home doing homework.”

“Oh, how lucky.” Oinomori-san smiled. “Well, Katsuragi-kun, why don’t we buy some sushi?” And then, smiling wickedly, she added. “Obviously… for three.”

It was as if a sun ray had come out of nowhere.

“Takkun, did you have lunch already?”

“Not yet…”

“Then, would you like to eat some sushi at my place?”

“Are you sure? I’d love to, but why so suddenly?”

“Well, some thing happened… I have a stranger here, but if you don’t mind.”

After receiving that sudden and mysterious invitation, I headed to the Katsuragi household next door… and waiting for me there was Ayako-san, who had an awkward look and three portions of sushi that looked extremely expensive.

And also.

“Ah, nice to meet you, Takumi Aterazawa-kun.”

A beautiful lady in a suit with a wild look.

“Come on, don’t just stand there and take a seat.”

“…Y-Yes.”

She invited me to take a seat as if it were her own home. She ordered it so naturally that I obeyed it on reflect.

“Well, let’s toast for our reunion and for our health and success… Cheers!” The woman standing in the sofa in front of me did a toast at her own pace and Ayako-san joined her. I also hurriedly lifted my glass from the table.

“By the way, Aterazawa-kun, do you like sushi? Is there any kind you dislike?”

“Eh… W-Well, I like sushi in general, even the ones that have ingredients I don’t particularly like…”

“I see, that’s nice to hear. I don’t like sushi except the ones with salmon and salmon roe, so I’ll give you the other ones as a sign of our friendship.”

“Eh, ah…”

“Come on, don’t be shy. You’re young, so you need to eat a lot.”

After she said it, she started to serve me all the sushi except for the salmon and salmon roe ones.

Even though the sushi looked really expensive.

Besides, she also had a childlike preference, saying that she didn’t like anything but the salmon and salmon roe sushi… But that wasn’t that important.

The important part was…

Who is this person?

She has the aura of a big fish and acts with so much familiarity, but who the heck is she?

“I-I’m sorry, Takkun… for calling you so suddenly.”

I was confused and Ayako-san, who was sitting next to me, apologized.

“I tried to stop her, but she didn’t want to listen…”

“No, it’s alright, but… who is she?”

“Uhm, she’s—”

“Oh, now that I think about it, I haven’t introduced myself. Here you go.”

Interrupting Ayako-san’s answer, the woman put aside her chopsticks and took out a business card from the suit’s pocket.

Sitting, she held it out, so I got up and took it with both hands.

Uhm, that’s how you receive a business card, right?

“My name is Yumemi, my family name is Oinomori. I just want to live a fun life every day… Well, you could say I’m a lively woman.” Said the woman, Oinomori-san, and then resumed eating.

Overwhelmed by the mysterious strength emanating from her, I looked at the business card and was shocked.

“President and CEO of LightShip… Eh? President?!”

I immediately raised my head, looked at Oinomori-san, then towards Ayako-san.

“Ayako-san, isn’t LightShip the company you work for…?”

“…Yes.”

“Then, this person… is the president of the company…”

“…T-That’s right, unfortunately.”

Ayako-san had a complicated look on her face.

I looked at Oinomori-san once again. I had no clue. I didn’t know the president of the company Ayako-san works for was such a beautiful and open woman.

“Titles don’t mean anything. I’m the founder of the company, so I only do the president’s work out of obligation. I have no ties to my position. If it were for me, I’d hand the reins to the new generation right now. What do you say, Katsuragi-kun? Don’t you want to replace me as president?”

“Please don’t joke about that. Our company works thanks to your personal connections and reputation.”

Ayako-san, who wasn’t sure to what point Oinomori-san was serious, answered with a shocked look. Judging by the atmosphere of the conversation, it was clear that they have known each other for a long time.

“Well. Now that I’ve introduced myself… Aterazawa-kun.”

After eating her salmon and salmon roe sushi quickly, Oinomori-san sipped her tea and asked me:

“Are you in love with Katsuragi-kun?”

“Asdfgh.”

I almost choked on the sushi I was chewing. If it had gone somewhere it shouldn’t have, I could have ended up getting asphyxiated.

“W-What…?”

“Fufu. There’s no need to hide it. I already heard all about it from Katsuragi-kun.”

“Hey, Oinomori-san…! Ah… I-I’m sorry, Takkun… Uhm, you see, I talk with her a lot about private topics, so…” Said Ayako-san while panicking.

Apparently, Oinomori-san had already found out about it.

“So?”

“…Well, I-I’m in love with her.”

“T-Takkun… Geez.”

I couldn’t do anything but nod when Oinomori-san leaned forward and asked me with a sadistic smile. I was really embarrassed. Even Ayako-san, who was next to me, looked like she was extremely embarrassed.

“Fufu. I see. That’s terrific.”

We both were blushing, and Oinomori-san seemed to enjoy our reaction.

“However… you’re still young, aren’t you? Twenty years old, I believe. At such an age, I can’t believe you like a woman like Katsuragi-kun…”

She looked at me with curious eyes.

“Do you like mature women?”

“Asdfgh… Cough cough cough.”

This time I did choke. The sushi went somewhere it shouldn’t have. Although, instead of me, who couldn’t answer, Ayako-san raised her voice.

“Wait…! W-What are you saying now, Oinomori-san?!”

“A young man in his 20s is in love with a woman in her 30s who is 10 years older than him. In that case, there’s only one possible explanation. He likes mature women.”

“…Uhm, so basically, you’re calling me a mature woman, right?”

“Well, you are a mature woman, aren’t you?”

“I-I’m not! Not yet!” Ayako-san objected desperately, but Oinomori-san didn’t stop.

“Oh please, there’s nothing to be ashamed off from liking mature women, Aterazawa-kun. Now the ‘mature’ tag is really popular among men. It’s a fairly common fetish.

“…Uhm. I wouldn’t say that I like mature women.” I replied, catching my breath once again. “Ah, no… maybe I do. I’m sorry, I myself don’t really know.”

“Hmm? You don’t know? We’re talking about your own tastes here, you know?”

“I know, but… I’ve never been in love with anyone else besides Ayako-san. So I’ve never really thought about what kind of women I like, or rather… I can only think about her.”

“…”

“Even when I talk with my friends, the only person that I think about is Ayako-san… I think that she’s the only woman I love— Eh? What?”

When I realized it, the mood had somehow turned strange.

Ayako-san was completely red, looking down, and the person that had asked me, Oinomori-san, also had an embarrassed look on her face.

“This is… wow. Katsuragi-kun, a great man has fallen in love with you.”

“…L-Leave me alone, please.”

“Fufu. He’s really done it to me. I wanted to make fun of him for a bit, but he blew me off entirely. To make me speechless… You’re a great man, Aterazawa-kun.”

I don’t know why, but it seemed that my reputation had gone up.

“Geez, what a shame. If you were interested in older women, then I could compete with her. This oneesan can show you the true charm of an adult woman that Katsuragi-kun lacks.”

“…Oinomori-san, you don’t have the age to call yourself an oneesan anymore.”

“Being an oneesan is not a time of life; it is a state of mind.”

“It’s unfair for you to call yourself an oneesan and to call me a mature woman. You’re forty two, you’re much more mature than I am.”

“F-Forty two?!” I couldn’t help but leak my voice in surprise and to stare at Oinomori-san’s face.

There’s no way…

I thought she was in her 30s… no, late 20s.

“You don’t look forty two at all. I thought you were younger.”

“Thanks. Even if it’s just being considerate, it makes me happy.”

“No, it’s not me trying to be considerate, really… When I saw you for the first time, I thought you were younger than Ayako-san.”

I objected in surprise… but I realized right after saying it.

Oh no.

I messed up!

I feel like I just seriously messed up terribly…!

“…Heh.”

I knew it.

The awkward atmosphere from before turned cold in the blink of an eye.

Ayako-san’s face was covered by a heavy shadow in an instant. There was some wrath in her eyes, but more than that, they were enveloped in desperation.

“…Hmm, I see. So I look older than a forty two year old woman… I see, so that’s how you see me, huh, Takkun…”

“It’s not like that! You also look pretty young, Ayako-san! It’s just that I… know your age… so I compared it to the age that Oinomori-san looks like…”

“…Kukuku… Hahahaha! I feel a little guilty.”

Unlike me, who was trying my best to fix my mistake, Oinomori-san opened her mouth and started laughing.

And then, as if enjoying it fully, she continued in a sarcastic tone:

“Oh, I envy you so much, Katsuragi-kun. Since I don’t look so dignified, I tend to be confused for someone younger. I truly envy you for looking older than you look. Could you teach me how to look more dignified?”

“…! …I-I think the reason you look undignified is due to your nonsensical actions and that you don’t act your age at all.”

“I also have a better figure. Unlike you, who are lazy, I go to the gym 3 times a week to work out my body.”

“…U-Us single mothers are busy with a lot of chores! I’m different from someone who has divorced 3 times and lives a life of leisure!”

“Well, the man who is in love with you literally said that I look younger than you. We can only reach a conclusion from this: Basically, I look overwhelming younger than others.”

“…I-I see you’re having a hard time understanding! Takkun has an extreme fetish for mature women, so it’s very likely that his brain just perceived me as older, just that!”

Due to my poor choice of words, the women started to argue.

And I had somehow been branded as an extreme mature women lover.

“Oh~, you don’t seem willing to back down.”

“Of course not!”

“Very well then. In that case… I challenge you.”

Ayako-san got mad and Oinomori-san smiled and said:

“Let’s solve this with a competition to see who looks younger between the two of us.”

“A competition…? How so?”

“Hmm, well, how about this?” The woman smiled wickedly and said, “Let’s call it… The competition of whoever dresses up with the more embarrassing outfit for her age and looks better, wins.”

The rules were simple.

As the name suggested… it was necessary to wear an embarrassing outfit for your age, and whoever looked better with it, won. And how would they choose a winner?

The decision would be made by a judge.

And there’s no need to say that I was the judge.

…Albeit, forcefully.

I was caught up in the middle of a duel which I shouldn’t have been involved in.

I-I don’t want to do this…

Even though my careless comment was what caused all of this, being the judge in this competition was difficult.

“A-Ayako-san…”

“It’s fine, Takkun.”

When I spoke about to Ayako-san about the competition earlier, she said that to me with a nervous, but resolute voice.

“I definitely won’t lose.”

“…”

No, uhm. I wanted to ask you to stop this dumb competition that won’t make anyone happy. I just wanted you to get your composure and reasoning back.

But apparently, this female-only battle couldn’t be stopped anymore.

“…Haah, why is this happening?”

Alone in the living room, I sighed deeply.

Both of them were changing into their “embarrassing for their age” clothes.

Ayako-san went looking for something in her house, while Oinomori-san was planning to wear an ideal outfit for the competition that she had brought on her suitcase by chance.

I wonder what they’re going to wear.

“—Takkun, I’m coming in.”

The door opened instantly.

And when I saw what was standing there… I was left dumbstruck.

It was a high school student.

No… It wasn’t a high school student.

It was a bit too adult to be called high school student.

A blouse, blazer, and a pleated skirt… A symbol of youth, sacred garments that only teenagers should wear. And Ayako-san was wearing such clothes… She was red to her ears from shame.

But even so, she did a few poses, probable for the sake of winning… And also, it somehow made me feel an indescribable pain seeing her.

“W-W-What do you think? Do I look like… a high schooler?”

“…”

“…Hey, Takkun… Please, say something. React in some way. If you react that way… It only makes me want to go out to the street and jump in front of a car.”

“U-Uhm…”

While I was overwhelmed and speechless from seeing a thirty year old woman in a high school outfit, Ayako-san called out to me with a face that looked like it was about to cry at any moment.

I didn’t want her to run out and jump in front of a car, so I hurriedly gave my impression.

“Well, h-how do I say it… I-It’s shameful—”

“Shameful?! Uuh… Uah… O-Of course, I knew it. No matter how you look at it, it’s shameful, isn’t it…? That a woman over 30 dressing as a high schooler is… I’m so sorry for being born…”

“No, it’s not that! I didn’t mean it that way! I was talking about the size! it seems to be a bit tight and suffocating!”

Ayako-san had fallen to a state of total desperation from which it seemed almost impossible that she would recover, so I hurriedly corrected myself.

“That’s… Miu’s, isn’t it?” I asked and she nodded.

It looked like the uniform was Miu’s. The blouse and skirt were probably a spare one. And you didn’t use a blazer this time of year, so there should have been one home, even if Miu were in class.

“The size… Is it alright?”

“I-It’s alright… Although I have to push my stomach in a bit.”

“I don’t think that can be called alright…”

“Well, what else can I do?! It’s very tight! To start with, it’s Miu’s fault for being so skinny! Why is this girl so slim?!” Ayako-san complained with a tantrum.

She seemed to be worried about her waist, but I was a lot more worried… about her breasts.

Those 2 bulges were pressing the shirt so much that the buttons were about to go out flying.

A-Amazing…

It looks like her breasts are about to come out from how tight they are in that blouse…

“H-Hey, Takkun… Then, what do you think? Be honest… Does it look good on me? Do I look like a high school student?”

Even though she asked me with such a desperate look, it was a very difficult question to answer.

“Uhm, do I say it… It looks good in a certain way.”

“A-A certain way?”

“Well… It’s a bit unreasonable to say that you look like a high school student, it’s more like a cosplay… but as a cosplay, it looks really good.”

“…Is that a compliment?”

“It’s a compliment, more or less…”

I wasn’t lying. Seeing Ayako-san in uniform… somehow, made me nervous. The feeling of immorality and taboo was so great that it made me feel dizzy.

It was tough to see in a lot of ways… but that toughness was addictive.

“I think you look very attractive.”

“…Uuh. That doesn’t make me feel happy.”

Even though she said that, she did look a bit happy.

She didn’t seem dissatisfied with that.

And how do I say it… She looked so cute acting like that. And the fact that she did that at her age… was just adorable to me.

But right as I was enjoying her charm once again…

“Oh, a high schooler.” Oinomori-san’s voice could be heard.

It seems that she had finally finished changing and came into the living room.

“Fuahahaha, I see, Miu-chan’s uniform. I didn’t expect you to cosplay as a high schooler… I’m surprised, Katsuragi-kun. I’m happy you take this dumb competition seriously. I’ve always liked that honesty and straightforwardness of yours.”

Ayako-san and I looked toward the door… and we were both socked.

Because of Oinomori-san’s appearance.

“Wha… W-Why…?” Said Ayako-san with a shaky voice. “Why… didn’t you change clothes?!”

Right, just as she said… Oinomori-san was wearing the same suit as before.

She hadn’t changed at all since she went out of the living room.

“You were supposed to change into the clothes you had brought for this competition…”

“Hm? Ah… well, that was a lie.” She replied.

Nonchalantly.

Extremely nonchalantly.

“As if I would conveniently bring along strange clothes. Fufufu. On the other hand, how could you believe such a ridiculous lie?”

“…”

“Ah, obviously, it’s my loss. You’ve defeated me completely, Katsuragi-kun. I really didn’t think you would actually wear something like that. Yes, it looks shameful. Very shameful… Fufufu, it fits you really well… Hahaha.”

Unable to hold back anymore, Oinomori-san started laughing.

It seems that this duel was on the palm of her hand from beginning to end.

From the beginning, she was just toying with us.

After winning the battle, but losing the war, Ayako-san collapsed on her feet.

“…I-I haaaateee yooouuuu!” She yelled in tears.

In front of a tearful thirty year old high schooler, I didn’t know what to say.

I couldn’t recover after that for some time… But I thought that a woman in her 30s dressed like that was painful, so I got myself together and went back to my room in the second floor.

“Fufu, come on, Katsuragi-kun, cheer up.”

While I was changing clothes, Oinomori-san entered my room.

“I came to apologize. I’m sorry about that, fufufu.”

“Please, don’t apologize with a smile on your face!” I yelled angrily, taking the blouse off and was left with just my bra.

Ah… your blouse is all wrinkled now. I’m sorry, Miu. I’ll make sure to iron it, so please forgive me.

“This time I’m really angry! I won’t forgive you unless you double my salary!”

“Sure, no problem. Double, right? I’ll make it so starting next month.

“…Please, don’t. Kanamori-san and accounting will get mad at me.”

“Oh, I doubt that.”

I can’t take this anymore.

Why do I have a boss like this one?

Why is our company managed by such an irresponsible president?

“Well, what matters is that everything turned out well. You could show your high schooler cosplay to Ateraza-kun. And since he has peculiar tastes, this will no doubt make him love you more.”

“…It doesn’t make me happy that he loves me more because of this.”

“Hmm? So it makes you happier that he loves you for who you are.”

“That’s… J-Just a manner of speaking!” I forcefully ended the conversation.

If we kept talking like this, I feared that she would uncover more of my true feelings.

Even my deepest feelings which I somehow am not conscious of.

“Fufu. As always, it was worth teasing you, Katsuragi-kun.” She happily muttered and stretched her arms. “Mhm, it was worth coming today. I could see Katsuragi-kun’s high schooler cosplay and I also met the person I wanted to see, Aterazawa-kun.”

“…Then, did you come here for Takkun?”

“I guess so. He’s the man that could become your husband. I needed to asses him.”

“W-What are you saying now? We still… don’t know what will happen.”

“Oh, right, right. Now you’re enjoying one of those moments, the being more than friends and less than lovers.”

“Uuh…”

Every time I said something, she teased me, so all I could do was whimper.

Oinomori-san laughed, but then…

“Although—”

Suppressing her smile, she said with a sigh.

“—I think he should give up.”

With a cold voice, filled with scoff and mock.

“Eh…?”

“Since he had made you lose your composure that much, I wanted to see what kind of man he was… But honestly, I’m disappointed. He’s just an ordinary university student like the ones you can find anywhere.” Oinomori-san continued in a mocking tone. “He isn’t ugly, but he isn’t handsome either… He’s a university student, so he has no money. Besides, he lives with his parents and doesn’t have a car. I get why you said you couldn’t see him as a man. Unless you like younger men, he isn’t someone that a thirty year old woman should date seriously. If it’s just for fun, that’s fine, but I don’t think he’s the kind of man you would want to date thinking about the long term.” Laughing mockingly, she continued. “Besides… you can’t trust him at all. He’s a disappointing man with no redeeming features. The fact that he caught a cold the day of your date subtracts a lot of points too. There’s nothing more pathetic than a man that gets sick at the most crucial moments. And somehow, it’s a little disgusting hearing him talk about how he has had an unrequited love for 10 years. Sounds like some kind of stalker.” She didn’t stop. “There’s so many better men out there. If you want, I can introduce you some better ones. Someone of your caliber can get any amount of handsome and rich men—”

“—Oinomori-san.” My mouth moved by itself. “Will you shut up before I get really mad?”

I was also surprised… at how much my voice was trembling.

I was angry.

A furious wrath boiled deep inside my chest, causing my voice and body to tremble.

“Please, take back your words right now. Takkun is a reliable man. He’s serious, sincere, kind and very responsible.” I said frowning.

To my boss, the president of the company I work for.

It was the first time since I joined the company that I’ve spoken to her so belligerently.

“These last 10 years since I started to take care of Miu… You have no idea how much he has helped me.”

In an instant, a lot of memories came to my mind.

These last 10 years with Miu… Takkun has always been there.

He has always been next to me, supporting me…

“I hadn’t realized until recently… but whenever I have a problem, the first person I go to… is him.”

During a long time, I wasn’t even aware of it.

It was so natural that I noticed way too late.

“I always had to leave Miu alone in the house due to work. Takkun always came to play with her… He always helped me get ready for every event and even during Miu’s tests, Takkun took them even more seriously than me…”

There were countless examples.

I had a lot of memories of him helping me.

“I don’t know a more reliable man than him.”

“…”

“And well, maybe he doesn’t have a solid economic state… B-But that’s because he’s still a student! I’m sure that he’ll be incredible in the future! He’ll find a good job and earn a lot of money! I know it! And his face… I-I like it! Takkun is handsome! He was a swimmer, so he has a muscular body! He’s totally my type!”

“…”

“Besides… The fact that he’s been in love with me for 10 years… I don’t consider it disgusting. At the start I was surprised and didn’t know what to do… But now I’m really happy about his devotion; for loving me for 10 years…”

“…”

“I-In any case. Takkun is a wonderful man! If you keep saying terrible things about him, I don’t care if it’s you, Oinomori-san, I won’t allow it—”

“…Pfft… Kuku… Hahahaha!”

Yelling, I expressed my emotions, and Oinomori-san started laughing.

“Hahaha, sure. I see. In that case—”

With a smile on her face, she put her hand on the door.

“—then you should tell him personally.”

She vigorously opened the door and quickly stretched her hand, forcefully dragging in the person who was outside the room.

“Eh… T-Takkun?!” I raised my voice in surprise.

Takkun, who was dragged into the room, had an embarrassed expression on his face.

“I-I’m sorry… You were taking so long that I came to check up on you since I was worried, but… well, the conversation suddenly started, and it was hard to come in…”

“Fufufu. You’re a bad boy, Aterazawa-kun, eavesdropping a conversation between women.”

Contrary to her words, Oinomori-san had a cheerful smile on her face.

As if delightfully watching her prey being caught in a trap.

“D-Don’t tell me you knew from the start that Takkun was here…”

“I had guessed as much when I heard his steps.” She answered proudly, without a single ounce of remorse.

She played me.

She lied to me again.

After hearing Takkun go upstairs, she laid a trap on me.

She made me angry and let Takkun listen to the conversation.

Anticipating what I would say in response.

“Fufu. Sorry for having said such terrible things, even if they were lies. Uhm…”

She put her hand on Takkun’s shoulder, apologizing and then she looked at me.

“…Takkun is a serious, sincere, kind, and very responsible, wasn’t he?”

“~~~~~~~?!”

She’s making fun of me!

She’s seriously making fun of me!

Uwaaa~~! I’m so embarrassed! What did I just say?! I was so angry that I said a lot of embarrassing things!

D-Don’t misunderstand, Takkun! That was… you know… S-She provoked me, so I had to answer back… I-It was just that, nothing else… It’s not that you’re not like that, but, uhm…”

“I-It’s alright, I understand.”

We were both blushing.

“Hahaha, you both are so cute and innocent.”

Saying that happily, Oinomori-san turned her back on us and left the room.

“Well, I think it’s about time I get going. I’ve already enjoyed your youth and innocence more than enough.”

“Eh… Ah.”

“Enjoy your youth, Katsuragi-kun.”

I thought about following her to see her off, but while I was going downstairs, she turned around as if trying to stop me and said:

“Youth is not a time of life; it is a state of mind… So said the American poet Samuel Ullman, and that’s my motto.”

Those words… I know them very well.

That poem was on her office’s wall, like the company’s motto.

And not just that famous opening, but the entire poem.

“No matter your age, while you try to enjoy your life to the fullest, your soul won’t grow old nor will it vanish. So, Katsuragi-kun, please enjoy work and love to the fullest. You’re still too young to use your age as a pretext.”

After saying that, she laughed in satisfaction and lively went down the stairs.

The woman took the suitcase she had left in the entrance and left.

Takkun and I couldn’t do anything other than to watch her gallantly leave the house in silence.

How to say it… It was overwhelming.

“O-Oinomori-san is incredible.”

“…Indeed.”

I agreed, half sarcastically, half in admiration.

In the end, she imposed her own pace from beginning to end. She played however she wanted with us on the palm of her hand.

Seriously… What a problematic president.

She was shameless, arrogant and superficial with money and love. No matter how many years pass, she always has that childish and bossy personality, a person that goes out dressed in ‘impulse’ and ‘without common sense’… But despite that.

I couldn’t really come to hate her.

On the contrary, I was thankful to her.

I didn’t have enough words to express my gratitude.

After all, when I had just started in the company, I suddenly became a single mother. It was thanks to Oinomori-san that I could keep my job, who I still have to this day.

“I’m sorry, Takkun. My boss ended up involving you in her pranks.”

“…No, it’s no problem, t-that’s why…”

Takkun blushed and looked the other way.

“Hm? What’s wrong?”

“No, well… A-Ayako-san.” He said hesitantly. “I think… you should wear something.”

“Eh? …Kyaa!”

I slowly lowered my gaze to check my appearance and then I screamed.

I-I’m not wearing anything!

I was wearing a skirt below… But on the upper side, I was only wearing a bra.

Uwaa… There’s no way! While I was changing, Oinomori-san started to make fun of Takkun, so I had to stop halfway through and angrily object… And I’ve been like that since that!

Just a bra!

“Nooo… Uuh, Takkun, you should’ve told me earlier…”

“I-I’m sorry, I couldn’t find a time to… Ah, I’ll go grab my jacket.”

I crouched and saw him running.

There’s no way… Did Oinomori-san plan this too?

She knew this was going to happen and put her plan into action the moment I started to change…

Uhh, ahh… Damn it!

I do hate her after all!

←Previous Chapter TOC Next Chapter→

5 thoughts on “Volume 2 Chapter 4

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started