Volume 3 Chapter 2

←Previous Chapter TOC Next Chapter→

End of July…

3 days before our family trip to the spa.

That day, I went to Tokyo on the bullet train for work related matters.

The company I work for, LightShip, is an independent company founded by Yumemi Oinomori, a charismatic ex-editor from an important editorial company. The company’s activity range is diverse and hard to explain… but we’re involved in a variety of entertainment businesses like manga, anime and video games.

LightShip’s main office is located in Tokyo.

I usually work from home, but at least every 2 months, I’m called to the main office or for some important matters.

Although we live in a world where long distance work is used broadly, there are still a lot of jobs that require physical attendance.

“Hmm, I guess that’s it for our meeting.”

Oinomori-san stretched while we headed out of the building where the client’s company was.

As always, she wore her usual pantsuit.

And today, I was also wearing a suit for the first time in a long time.

I normally work in loose house clothing, or sometimes in pajamas, but despite that, I feel relaxed when I’m wearing a suit.

It makes me feel as if I’m seriously going to work.

“Sorry for dragging you everywhere. It’s just been a long time since you’ve come, so there were a lot of companies and people I wanted to introduce to you.”

“No, it’s fine.” I shook my head.

After finishing my work at the main office, Oinomori-san took me with her in order to introduce to me the new companies and creators which she had just started doing business with.

And although she apologized for dragging me, I was very thankful for the opportunity to do some networking.

And above all… I was an exception who was allowed to work at home.

There was no reason to complain, no matter how many times the president dragged me all around Tokyo.

“But well… It’s so hot lately.” Oinomori-san complained while she made way between the city crowd.

It was past 4. The high point of temperature had passed already, but the summer heat still remained in the asphalt.

“Isn’t this heat hard for you who lives in Tohoku?”

“Not really. Our house is at the south of Tohoku, within a valley. There’s almost no wind, so the summer is quite hot.”

“Oh… So it doesn’t snow then?”

“…It does snow actually.”

In Tohoku, summers are hot and winters are snowy.

I think I live in a very problematic area.

“Katsuragi-kun, will you stay the night?”

“Yes. I’ve already made a hotel reservation. I also want to do some work at the office tomorrow.”

When Miu was young, I always tried to return home the same day, but when she got into middle school, I started to stay the night. Miu herself said “You worry too much, I can survive on my own for a day.”

“I see. Then enjoy your first night alone in a long time. Why don’t I tag along? Let’s go to Kabukicho* or something like that.” TL/N: Entertainment district best known for their adult-oriented nightlife.

“K-Kabukicho…? Where do you plan on taking me?”

“To one of my favorite host clubs.”

“I’m not going.”

“Then, what about a boys bar?”

“No thanks!” I rejected her as hard as I could.

“You don’t have to be like that… It’s not as if it were a suspicious place, you know? It’s just a place to have a nice drink while you’re surrounded by handsome men. It’s just what ladies like.”

Even if she says such a thing, I can’t go to any of those places.

Kabukicho, a host club, a boys bar, all those places are impossible for me.

I know I’m talking with prejudice because I’ve never been to any of those places… but regardless, those kinds of places are out of my reach!

“Good grief. You’re so fussy, Katsuragi-kun. This may be your last chance, you know?”

“Last chance…?”

“If you start dating Aterazawa-kun, you won’t be able to go out and have fun anymore at night. If you want to get a bit crazy, it has to be now. After all, everything you do now, won’t be considered cheating.”

“…Don’t say something like a boss that invites his subordinate to night places for his bachelor’s party.” I replied downheartedly and Oinomori-san laughed.

“Well, I won’t force you. But at the very least, let me invite you to dinner.”

“If it’s just dinner, I gladly accept,”

“All right. But… what do we do for now? It’s too early to have dinner and we’re too far from the office by now.”

“…Uhm, Oinomori-san.” I said. “Since we have time… Could we go shopping together?”

Led by Oinomori-san, we walked around the streets of Tokyo.

After grabbing a taxi, we headed to the nearest station and walked everywhere through the station’s building.

Haah… Tokyo streets are so complicated. The stations and their surroundings are like labyrinths. If it wasn’t for Oinomori-san, I would have definitely gotten lost.

I couldn’t have done any shopping.

“…Heh. A 2-day family trip to a spa?”

We were walking to the big warehouses at the station.

And that’s how the woman answered when I told her everything.

“…And besides, the Aterazawa family will also be going.”

“…My father has stocks there and every year he gets free tickets because of it. Since we get free tickets for 2 days every year, I once offered them to the Aterazawa family as thanks for everything they’ve done and they told me ‘Since this is a rare opportunity, why don’t we go together?’, and ever since then, it’s become an annual summer tradition…”

“Hmmm. That sounds pretty fun, so why the long face?”

“…This year it’s a bit special.” I said with a sigh. “Since it’s a very popular tourist spot, it’s very busy during the summer vacation, so I made the reservation 6 months ago… But this year, Takkun’s father had an urgent job come up for that date.”

We tried changing the reservation, but there were no more slots for the remaining of the summer vacation.

So Takkun’s father won’t be able to come.

And feeling bad for her husband, Takkun’s mother also decided not to come.

“Since his parents were not going, Takkun also hesitated on coming… But I insisted on him coming…”

“Eh? You invited him, Katsuragi-kun?”

“…Yes.”

“Wow. So bold of you.”

“I-It’s not like that! The time I invited him… was before he confessed to me!”

I think it was at the beginning of April.

Takkun was hesitating on whether or not to go on a one-night trip with just Miu and I, but I insisted.

“Let’s go, Takkun. It’s our annual trip. Come on, it will be more fun for Miu and I if you come with us.”

Something like that.

“…At the time, I still wasn’t aware of what Takkun felt for me… So I invited him casually as if he were a son or a brother…”

“And Aterazawa-kun couldn’t say no when you invited him that way.”

“Furthermore… we’ll be sleeping in the same room…”

“Eh…? You and Aterazawa-kun…?”

“Yes… Of course, Miu will also be with us… But I also suggested that.”

“…How do I say this… You’ve become a full-on carnivore before I realized.”

“I-I said it’s nothing like that! I didn’t think about anything related to that back then! It was before Takkun confessed…”

I had originally made a reservation for 2 rooms and Takkun insisted on him staying alone in the room meant for the Aterazawa family… But I opposed that completely.

“That’s no good, Takkun. It’s a waste, so let’s cancel that room. Either way, we’ll only spend 1 night there, so, why don’t you sleep in the same room as us? Somehow, it’s a bit too luxurious to stay in a family sized room all for yourself… Plus, if we cancel, there will be more people who will be able to lodge there, isn’t that right?”

Something like that.

He kept resisting until the end, but I finally managed to convince him.

Uwaa… Uwaaaa…!

What the heck did I do in April?!

I can’t believe I suggested staying in the same room as Takkun on my own…!

“Good grief, what an ironic story. On one hand, you trusted in Aterazawa-kun as much as a family member. On the other, you didn’t perceive him as a man at all. Since you were completely unaware of his feelings, you were able to invite him on a one-night trip without batting an eye.” Oinomori-san shrugged exaggeratedly. “And Aterazawa-kun himself somehow has been holding back against this temptation for the last 10 years. I can’t help but feel pity for him.”

“…Ugh.”

I had no reply, so I couldn’t do anything but grunt.

Anyways, this was past me’s fault… This family trip and turned into a trip in which mother, daughter and Takkun would spend the night in the same room.

Ahh… How did this happen…?

I want to strangle past me, who lived such a carefree life, so much…

Well… we’ve already spent the night together at a love hotel, although that doesn’t mean I’m used to sleeping with him. I’m so nervous and anxious that I panic at the mere thought of it.

Besides.

This year’s trip, despite being filled with so many worries already, had created a new one.

“I see. I have a general idea of the situation. In that case, let me, Yumemi Oinomori, help you pick the swimsuit in your next family trip.”

“…Please.”

I wanted someone to come with me shopping… so that they would help me pick a swimsuit.

I’m sure that Oinomori-san, who wears elegant brand clothing, knows stores that sell swimsuits that would look good on me. In this trip to Tokyo, I was thinking of asking her the favor if she was free.

“However, I didn’t expect you to ask me something like this.”

“Eh…?”

“Didn’t you say you always went shopping with Miu-chan?”

“That’s… true, but…”

These last few years, Miu has been coordinating my clothes often. I used to pick clothes for her when she was little, but Miu now knows more about fashion than me.

And I was actually going to buy a new swimsuit with Miu too, but…

“Well… it’s become a bit hard to ask her about it for now.”

“Hmm? That’s weird. Did you have a fight?”

“It’s… not really a fight.”

Rather… I think it would have been better if it was a fight.

Would have been better to state our opinions and fight over them.

But now, I can’t stop feeling uneasy all the time.

“Lately… I don’t understand what Miu is thinking at all.”

“Heeh… That’s pretty normal.”

“Eh?”

The unexpected answer took me by surprise.

That’s normal?

“Not understanding what a high school student thinks… This is a rather common worry for a mother. It’s normal for parents to not understand what their children are thinking during puberty.”

“…”

“That’s why I think it’s extremely healthy and normal to have such worries. Rather, on the contrary, those parents that say ‘I understand my child perfectly. I know him better than anyone else in the world’ are strange. Such parents seem to think that they know their children, but that’s not the case at all.” Said Oinomori-san eloquently and fluently. “I’ve only seen Miu-chan a handful of times… but I think that she’s a good girl. That she has taken a rebellious attitude… Fufufu. It’s not bad. That means that she sees you as her mother and wants to act like a spoiled girl.”

“…Is… that so?”

She’s… acting like a spoiled girl?

That’s not what it looked like to me.

“Well, that’s just my intuition. You shouldn’t take it at face value.” Said Oinomori-san slightly insecure, something rather unusual for her. “These are just the words of a woman who’s never raised kids, basing it all on things I’ve heard. Don’t take it too seriously.”

The usual fearless and sarcastic smile was drawn on her lips, but there was some sort of sadness in it.

After entering the big warehouses, the two of us took the elevator.

When we came out in the floor we were going to, there were a lot of brand stores lined up.

Oinomori-san gallantly walked around the luxurious place and I followed her nervously.

Soon after, she entered a store, as if it were normal to her.

“O-Oinomori-san…? T-This place? We’re going to buy a swimsuit in this place?”

“That’s my intention.”

“But… This looks so expensive.”

It was a brand shop with a quiet and elegant atmosphere.

It had such a high-class aura that it would make even a young woman in her 20s hesitate to step inside. There was a swimsuit section in the corner of the store, but it was totally different from the swimsuit sections that I had visited before in my life.

All the swimsuits lined up were beautiful, not too pretentious, but rather simple and elegant. Designed not for young women, but rather adult women.

And probably… for rich women.

“They look like the type of swimsuits foreign celebrities would wear…”

“That’s right. This brand is popular among foreign models and celebrities.”

“I can’t allow myself to pay so much for a swimsuit…”

“Don’t worry too much about it. It’s true that expensive swimsuits are from expensive brands, but this store also has some relatively cheap ones. You should be able to buy a good swimsuit here at a reasonable price.”

“But… how to say it… Aren’t these too stylish for me? Maybe I’d look better going to a normal store.”

“What are you talking about? When I asked what kind of swimsuit you’d like, you said a mature one.”

“I-I did say that, but…”

“Katsuragi-kun, you’re an adult and mature woman already. It’s about time you got one or two decent swimsuits.”

“But…”

“Besides.”

While I hesitated, Oinomori-san turned to me.

She looked at me from head to toe… and then focused on my breasts.

“On other places… we probably won’t find the size you need.”

“…”

She hit the nail.

That’s completely right!

I can’t find my size anywhere! There are many cute bras and swimsuits that I want… but most of them aren’t available on my size!

“Well, for now let’s take a look. You can choose if you want to buy it or not after trying it.”

“…All right.”

Oinomori-san convinced me to at least look at the store’s swimsuits.

Heh, what a sight.

There are many fashionable swimsuits.

The designs are mature and elegant… Some are a bit revealing, but nothing too vulgar… The prices aren’t that expensive either, just like Oinomori-san said.

If it’s one of these… I don’t mind trying them.

I was a bit uneasy at first, but I started letting myself go a bit.

“So, Katsuragi-kun, I found a really good one here, can you try it out?” With a swimsuit in hand, Oinomori-san patted my shoulder.

“Eh, that was fast… Please, wait a moment. I’m still looking around…”

“It’s fine, come on, hurry up.”

“W-Wait… I’m still not mentally prepared…!”

“Don’t worry, come on, hurry up.”

She forcefully grabbed my hand, dragged me to the fitting room and gave me the swimsuit.

As expected of a luxury store, the fitting room was quite big. There was a big full-body mirror and a basket to put your stuff in. And also… everything a woman needs to try a swimsuit.

“…Haah. She’s always going at her own pace.” Sighing, I started taking off my clothes and underwear. I was tired of going against her, so the best course of action was to quietly go along with her. Resigned, I proceeded to change clothes.

And then… 5 minutes later.

I was wearing Oinomori-san’s handpicked swimsuit. I was wearing it, but…

Uwaa… W-What’s this…?

Uhm… Isn’t this a bit too much?

No matter how you look at it… isn’t this too lewd…?

“…Are you done already?”

“Hyaaaa?!”

Fshh.

The curtain behind me suddenly opened and I let out a surprised scream.

“G-Geez! Don’t open up without permission, please!”

While my complaints seemed to have little effect on her, Oinomori-san kept looking at me with great interest.

At my body in a swimsuit.

“Oh, so cute. It looks really good on you.”

“It doesn’t look good on me! What’s with this lewd swimsuit?!”

The swimsuit that looked good on me, was basically, a V.

V.

The letter V.

Two strips of cloth extended from the shoulders to the crotch, hiding the important parts with just a fine stretch of cloth.

No.

Strictly speaking… it barely covered anything.

My crotch was barely hidden and the meat on my chest was spilling out considerably. And the cloth in my ass… was getting between my butt cheeks.

The reflection of my rear was basically just my bare back.

“Yes, it looks good, but… It’s 10 times more obscene than I expected.”

“Of course it’s obscene! This is pretty much the same as being naked!”

“Hmm. Looking at you again… you have a violently erotic body, Katsuragi-kun. Specially those explosive breasts. Even though they’re enormous, they’re firm and flexible and look so soft… Even I, a woman, am about to lose my mind… And that ass—”

“Stop saying things like that, please!” I objected strongly, stomping the floor.

But… that movement proved to be a fatal mistake.

The fine V suimsuit cloth didn’t safely cover my breasts, so when I started to stomp the floor… the swimsuit slipped.

Boing.

My breasts came out with a boing.

“Wha?!”

“Eh… Kyaaa!”

Oinomori-san even stepped back, and I hurriedly started to cover myself.

Ahh… Uuhh… I’m starting to get tired.

Why does this happen to me…?

“…Wow… I-I just saw something amazing. I even thought something had exploded.” Said Oinomori-san, bewildered and a little embarrassed. “Geez, what are you doing showing that kind of fanservice?”

“I-I didn’t do it because I wanted to!”

“Do these kinds of things in front of Aterazawa-kun.”

“No way!” I screamed while in tears.

Pouting at Oinomori-san, I quickly fixed the swuimsuit.

“Uuh… I’m out of here.”

“Now now, no need to pout.”

“I’m not pouting. I’m not pouting at all… I’m just tired.”

I have no strength left.

My energy disappeared instantly.

I tried to gather all my courage to come and buy a new swimsuit… but this embarrassing incident made me lose all my energy.

“After all… these stylish swimsuits don’t look good on me. It looks shameful that a common woman like me wears something she isn’t used to. Besides, I’m too old to focus so much on pools. Wearing an attractive swimsuit at my age… is embarrassing.”

“…”

“Last year and the one before, I went to the pool, but I didn’t wear a swimsuit, I simply saw Miu and the others have fun… So I think I only have to do the same this year.”

“…”

“For starters, the pool is full during summer vacation, so you can’t swim a lot. Yeah, there’s no need to buy a new swimsuit—”

“—Katsuragi-kun.” Said a sharp voice.

Oinomori-san, who had been smiling all the time, erased her smile and stared at me. There was disappointment, surprise and a silent wrath in her eyes.

“Why did you want to buy a new swimsuit today?”

“Eh…?”

“You just said you didn’t use a swimsuit last year and the one before, so, why were you thinking of wearing one this year?”

“Well…”

“To show it to Aterazawa-kun?” Said Oinomori-san, knowing the answer. “You wanted to show your swimsuit to the boy that likes you. And since you were going to show him your body anyways, you wanted to look as beautiful as possible, am I right?”

“…Yes.”

Overwhelmed by her assertive tone and piercing gaze, I nodded obediently.

Yes, that’s right.

Of course, it wasn’t as if I had a sense of rivalry with Miu, who was competing with me, but the main reason was because I wanted him to see me in a swimsuit…

“B-But it’s not as if I wanted to show it to him… I just thought that maybe he wanted to see me in one.”

I wondered if Takkun wanted to see.

To see me in a swimsuit.

If we go to a pool, he’d expect something like this.

Even last year… I hadn’t even thought about it.

Because I had no clue that Takkun liked me.

I thought that no one would be interested seeing me in a swimsuit.

But this year…

“…I-If Takkun wants to see me, I wanted to reach his expectations… Although, well, it would probably seem a bit ridiculous.”

“I don’t think it’s ridiculous or anything. It’s a completely natural instinct for a woman to want to look more beautiful. Specially if the other person likes you… If he desires you as a woman. There’s nothing to be ashamed of.”

“…”

“Worrying about age is just a waste of time, it’s stupid.”

“S-Stupid…? I’ve been seriously worried about—”

“Listen, Katsuragi-kun.” Said Oinomori-san in a high voice, without letting me finish. “It’s true that you’re not young anymore. You may have reached the age where some people may call you ‘Aunt’. And it’s possible that they want you to behave in a way that goes according with your age.”

“But” she continued.

“For the rest of your life, the moment you’re the youngest is ‘now’.”

“…!”

I felt like she said something incredible.

Stab!

Those words pierced my heart.

I felt as if something incredibly sharp had been nailed in the deepest part of my heart.

“Both you and I get older every day. After 30, we stop growing, we simply get older. Tomorrow we’ll be older than today, the day after more than tomorrow, every day we keep getting older.”

The tone of her voice turned gradually more intense. Thinking that this came from a woman who had lived in this world longer than me… her words carried a different weight.

“You’re ashamed for using an attractive swimsuit for being over 30? If you say that now, then you’ll be more embarrassed the next year and the one after. It’s as if you’re cursing yourself… and will never be able to use a swimsuit in public.”

“…”

“Whatever the reason is, you wanted Aterazawa-kun to ‘see’ you in a swimsuit, right? You wanted to see him even a bit more beautiful if possible, right? Then cherish these ‘now’ feelings.” Oinomori-san smiled and declared in a magnanimous tone. “Don’t be ashamed and use whatever swimsuit you want. And for the rest of your life, show Aterazawa-kun the youngest body of Ayako Katsuragi.”

“Oinomori-san…”

I felt a gust of warmth sprout in my chest.

Overwhelmed by emotion, the corners of my eyes started to heat up.

“…I’m sorry. I used my age as an excused again.” After bowing slightly, I said. “I’ll gather my courage… and wear a swimsuit that’s a bit attractive and show him the youngest me!”

“That’s good.”

“But…”

Everything was resolving itself well, but there was still a problem that I couldn’t overlook even in this emotional state.

I opened my mouth, looking at myself.

I looked at this V shaped swimsuit that made me feel completely naked.

“One thing for sure… It will definitely not be this swimsuit.”

“Don’t worry. I picked that one as a joke, the next one will be normal.”

So she was joking.

Since the next one will be normal, she definitely didn’t pick this one seriously.

I wanted to punch her in the face.

←Previous Chapter TOC Next Chapter→

Yo, sorry for the delay. Long story short, was busy for a bit with my scan, then I moved to a new apartment and before I knew it, it was the holidays. New release schedule atm is one chapter ~2 days. One day to do a translation for my group since I’m behind, then one for the novel.

Update: Illustrations have been uploaded, click here if you want to see them. Password is Spoilers

12 thoughts on “Volume 3 Chapter 2

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started