Volume 3 Chapter 5

←Previous Chapter TOC Next Chapter→

After managing to somehow to come out from that happy and embarrassing family bath, I laid down in my room’s bed to rest.

I didn’t faint, but I was close to it.

My body was hot, and my head was a little dizzy.

I think the main reason was due to the long length of the bath, but I also think that the view had a lot to do with it.

It was simply amazing.

Ayako-san’s appearance in the bath was simply stunning.

Her blushing face after getting into the bathtub was a bit sexier than usual… and her glamorous body under the wet towel was extraordinarily provocative.

I thought I’d die a few hours ago when I saw her wearing a pretty bold swimsuit, but I never thought I’d see something even lewder than that…

I thought that I shouldn’t peep too much, but I couldn’t control my earthly desires and repeatedly took glances.

Haah… I’m sure that she noticed that I was looking at her.

I wonder if she hates me.

And also… I wonder if she really didn’t know what I meant by “embarrassing thing I didn’t want to show.”

I’m wondering if she really thought it was about my ass.

Ah, shit, she definitely must hate me…

I showed too much of my sexual impulse back there…

“Oh, what’s wrong, Taku-nii?”

While my depressed and worried head was in chaos, Miu returned. When she noticed me laying down, she walked to me and sat nearby.

There was a cheeky smile on her face.

“You seem tired.”

“…And whose fault do you think that is?”

“Ahaha. From what I can see, it seems like you enjoyed it. I did a pretty great work making a pretty lucky and perverted event, don’t you think?”

She smiled happily, as if she had done nothing wrong.

“So, did you meet with her? Seeing mom’s naked body for a bit must have been pretty destructive, right?”

“…Well, yes.”

Looks like Miu’s plan was to simply have us meet each other.

That I’d go in first, then Ayako-san and we end up meeting up, and that’s it.

I’m sure that she never even thought that we’d take a bath together.

In that case… it’s not necessary to tell her about what happened. Or rather, it’s just too embarrassing… I don’t want to tell her I got dizzy there.

“Then, where did mom go?”

“She went out to buy me something to drink.”

“Hmm, I see.”

“Hey, Mi—”

“Taku-nii.” Said Miu, ignoring me. “Raise your head a bit.”

“My head?”

Although I was hesitant, I followed her instructions.

“Yes, that’s right… Raise a bit more. Yup, that’s good.”

Miu slid her legs under my head.

And my head ended up over her thighs.

“…What are you doing?”

“Hm? Giving you a lap pillow.” Said Miu looking at me with a cheeky expression from above.

“I know that. I’m asking why.”

“Why not? It’s good to do this once in a while.”

“…”

“Don’t make that face. Be happier, will you? You’re getting a lap pillow from an authentic high school girl. I think that experiencing something like that is priceless.”

“…I already told you that I’m not interested in high school girls.”

“Haah. Yes, yes you did. You won’t be happy unless it’s mom’s fat thighs.”

“Don’t call them fat…”

Although… I guess Ayako-san’s thighs really are fat… But even then!

The image of her stretching her beautiful legs in the hot water came to my mind.

They’re not too thick, but not very thin either. They’re beautiful thighs with just the right amount of meat. I only touched them a bit with my legs, but I can still feel the fresh texture of her soft and moist skin.

“…Sorry.”

I was about to drown in my own obscene fantasies when Miu’s voice sent me back to reality.

It was a serious voice, completely different to her previous lightheartedness.

“I guess I went too far.”

“…Seriously, you.” I sighed deeply. “Don’t apologize before I get mad. If you do, I can’t get too mad at you.”

“That was my intention.”

“…”

“It was a joke. I’m legitimately really sorry.”

“Don’t apologize to me, apologize to Ayako-san.”

“Yes, I know.”

After that, there was a moment of silence. It was a calm and quiet atmosphere that I lost the opportunity to get off her lap.

“Taku-nii.” Miu’s voice sounded from above. “Do you remember that promise?”

“Promise…?”

“10 years ago… Or was it 9…?” Miu looked up, as if she was looking at something far away.

As if she was remembering happy times.

“When mom locked herself in a room due to an urgent work, you came to play with me and made all types of accessories with beads… and I showed you a drawing I made. The one mom framed, a drawing of you and I. Do you remember it?”

“…I do remember it, of course.” I replied.

It was impossible to forget.

It was one of my most special and irreplaceable memories.

However, it was somewhat embarrassing to admit, so I replied with a slightly indifferent tone.

“…I see. So you do remember.”

Miu looked surprised for a moment and then smiled with satisfaction.

“I thought you had already forgotten such an old promise.”

“I thought you would be the one to forget things like that. You were only 6 at the time, weren’t you?”

“I still remember despite only being 6 at the time.”

‘Something so important… I could never forget it.’

Smiling softly, Miu said that, got me off her lap and then stood up.

“Well, service time is over~.”

And with that last joke, Miu went out of the room.

After going out of the room, I closed the door standing behind my back.

“…Fufu.”

Ah, I can’t help it.

In the end, I couldn’t help but smile.

In my face, there was a smile of pure joy that I couldn’t show anyone.

“I see… So Taku-nii does remember our promise.”

It was a promise we made when we were kids.

A promise of marriage.

A promise of marriage when we were adults.

From outside, it may have looked like mere nonsense.

Something like playing house.

A marriage promise made when we were kids has no validity. Rather, it’s pretty unreasonable to stick to such a promise despite it being almost 10 years old.

But.

Taku-nii remembered it pretty well.

He remembered the promise of “marriage” he made with me.

And that… was more than enough for me.

I couldn’t ask for more.

I don’t regret nor feel sorrow, so I can support mom and Taku-nii to the fullest…

I was feeling such joy and happiness that I was in a rare, if I’m allowed to say it myself, in a really rare state of vulnerability and defenselessness.

That’s why…

“…Miu?”

I didn’t realize.

That my mom was next to me holding sports drinks.

Miu who was standing in front of the room, was surprised when I called out to her.

“Mom…”

“What’s wrong, Miu? Why were you standing there?”

“No, it’s nothing…”

She looked elsewhere, embarrassed.

“…Hey, mom.” This time, she looked at me with scrutinizing eyes. “Uhm… Did you hear that?”

“Eh? Hear what?”

“…Hm. No, it’s nothing. If you didn’t hear it, then it’s fine.” She answered with some indifference and relief in her voice. “Those drinks are for Taku-nii?”

“Yes, that’s right. Although I may have bought too many.”

“You should give them to him soon. He looks really tired.”

“…And whose fault do you think that is?”

“You’re right. I’m sorry.”

Her tone was light, but Miu bowed her head firmly.

“I’ve reflected on my actions and realized I went a bit too far with sending you both to the bath together.”

“…Your apology sounds surprisingly honest for a change.” I said with a small sigh. “Well, that’s fine. I-It wasn’t that bad. For an adult woman like myself, meeting with a man in the bath is nothing.”

“Hmm, I see.”

“Don’t apologize to me, apologize to Takkun.”

“…That’s the same thing he said.” Said Miu in amazement.

“…Listen, Miu… What is it that you’re trying to accomplish?” I asked.

I got completely serious and began.

“You flirt with Takkun, especially in front of me, and constantly try to provoke me… When I think about it, you do nothing but laugh at Takkun and me like what happened in the bath… I don’t get your thought process at all.”

The words came out of my heart.

With an exasperated voice begging for help to understand.

I was tired of being manipulated by her absurd actions, and I also felt guilty.

I felt pathetic for not being able to understand my daughter’s feelings.

“Miu… Please tell me.” I begged. “What are you thinking? What is it that you want?”

“…You don’t get it.”

Her response was cold and dry.

As if she were stunned and disappointed.

“You don’t understand anything, mom.”

Miu looked at me with piercing eyes.

There was some anger in her cold eyes.

“I-I don’t understand… that’s why I’m asking. I’m not omniscient, so I won’t know unless you tell me.”

“That’s not what I mean… Hnng, ah, just forget it.” She said, as if resigning herself, then extended her hand toward the bag I held. “I don’t want to ruin the trip, so let’s continue after we get back.”

She took out a sports drink from the bag, saying “I’ll take this.” And left.

“Miu…”

I was left there.

Throwing questions at her while she went away.

Miu.

What is it that you want?

And why don’t you tell me how you feel?

And…

—I see… So Taku-nii does remember our promise.

The truth is… that I heard it.

What Miu said to herself while she was standing in front of the door.

In that moment, Miu looked incredibly happy. It wasn’t a conscious smile, but rather a natural smile full of happiness coming from the bottom of her heart.

When I looked at that smile… I got even more confused.

Hey, Miu.

What are you thinking about?

That I don’t understand anything…? What is it that I don’t understand?

And what was that promise you made with Takkun?

After that, everything went as usual.

When Miu returned to the room, she had gone back to normal and I tried to act as I usually did.

While we were chatting and laughing, we were watching TV and the night gradually advanced.

And it was now 11 pm.

Time to sleep… but before that, it was necessary to solve a rather important topic.

A matter of positions, about who would sleep where.

“Hey, Taku-nii, do you want us to sleep together on the same futon?” Said Miu, smiling cheekily, in front of the 3 lined futons in the middle of the room.

Takkun’s face was completely perplexed.

“No way.”

“Eh, Why not? We used to sleep together a lot like that, didn’t we?”

“How many years ago was that?”

“Miu, stop playing dumb. And as your mother, I don’t allow it.”

“Hmph, mind your own business. Why don’t you go sleep in that corner on your own?”

“…Who know what you could do. Therefore, you’ll sleep next to me. I’ll sleep between you and Takkun and I’ll keep an eye on you.”

“So you say… But surely you aren’t planning to sneak into his futon, are you?”

“Wha…? I-I’m not going to do that!”

After discussing it, it was finally decided that Takkun would sleep in the middle. Well, I guess it’s better this way.

The three of us got into our respective futons and turned the lights off.

After the lights turned off, Miu tried to sneak into Takkun’s futon, but only during the first 5 minutes.

The dark room went silent pretty fast.

No one spoke.

It looked like both of them had fallen asleep.

But I… couldn’t sleep.

I was nervous because Takkun was next to me, but there was something else that worried me.

Miu.

I was wondering in my futon what my daughter was thinking about.

I tried to act as if nothing had happened in front of them, but in a silence like this one, I couldn’t help but think about various things.

My mind was a mess.

“…”

Since I couldn’t fall asleep, I silently got up from the bed and sneaked out of the room without making noise.

I walked alone on that dark hallway.

While I was aimlessly walking, trusting only in the faint light that illuminated my feet, I saw the vending machine’s light.

I bought decaffeinated tea, held my back against the wall and started to take sips of it.

On the opposite side, there was a crystal wall.

You could clearly see the scenery outside.

The summer stars shined in the night sky through the crystal.

I was hypnotized by the fleeting, yet beautiful shine of the stars… and then.

“Ayako-san.” Someone called out to me.

When I turned around, I saw Takkun getting closer.

He was looking at me a bit worried.

“Takkun…”

“Did something happen for you to take a walk at this hour?”

“…I just couldn’t sleep. You too, Takkun? Ah… I’m sorry, did I wake you up?”

“No, I also couldn’t sleep. I knew you had gone out, so I followed you.”

It looks like Takkun couldn’t sleep either.

“I feel like a kid that can’t fall asleep during a trip.”

“You’re right.”

I joked and Takkun chuckled. And then he turned his eyes toward the night sky beyond the glass.

I followed his gaze and looked at the night sky once again.

“The stars look really beautiful today.”

“Yes. I thought so too at the bath, but they really look beautiful…”

“In the bath…”

“Yes. The bath’s view was simply wonderful…” I said and then I was invaded by a deep embarrassment.

Uwaaa, this is bad!

Why the hell am I talking about the bath?!

Takkun blushed in embarrassment. He must be remembering what happened in the bathroom. I also felt really embarrassed when I remembered it. Why do I just love digging my own grave?

In an awkward atmosphere:

“Uhm… Ayako-san.” Said Takkun, putting the conversation back on track. “You looked a bit depressed just a moment ago… Are you okay?”

“Did I look like that?”

“Yeah, sort of.” He said clearly, but with a pained face.

After a brief pause, I sighed in silence, as if I had been defeated.

“…Yes. Actually, there is something I’m worried about…”

“You mean… Miu?”

“Ah, is it that obvious?”

“It’s obvious given what’s happened lately.”

He gave a wry smile.

He seemed to be thinking about Miu’s sudden change.

“…To be honest, we recently had a small argument.”

“An argument…?”

“Oh, but it’s nothing serious. Even hard to call it an argument… More like our points of view disagreed on something.”

Disagreeing with our points of view.

Even if we stan in front of each other and I look straight at my daughter and she looks straight at me, I don’t feel like we’re seeing each other. I feel this weird sensation of alienation, as if we were standing on completely different levels while we talk.

“I don’t get what’s happening to Miu… I asked her, but she didn’t tell me anything… It’s the first time this happens, so I’m a bit confused.”

I don’t understand.

I don’t understand what Miu feels.

I even gathered the courage to ask, but she refused to talk.

Oinomori-san said that this is pretty normal, but I can’t be too optimistic.

“…Yes.”

Gradually, I was drowning in darker and darker thoughts, and I couldn’t help but think about certain things.

Things that weren’t worth thinking about.

“If I was her true mother… I wonder if I could have done it.”

If I was her biological mother.

If we were related by blood.

If I was my deceased mother.

I wonder if I could understand her better.

Or even if I couldn’t, I wonder if I could have remained firm and calm without feeling so anxious and insecure.

“If we were true mother and daughter, then maybe—”

“—Ayako-san.”

A strong and high voice resounded in my heart that was almost entirely covered in darkness.

When I looked up in surprise, Takkun was looking at me with a severe look.

“Even if you say that as a joke, I’ll get mad.”

“Eh…”

“Ayako-san… How can you not be her true mother?” Said Takkun with an earnest and serious tone. “These 10 years that you’ve been with Miu, you’ve loved and raised her… If these feelings aren’t real, then what is?”

“…”

“I’m sure that Miu thinks the same. That’s why… I won’t forgive anyone who says that Ayako-san is not her true mother. Not even… if that person is you.”

“Takkun…”

I felt my chest heating up after facing against that silent wrath that was hiding behind that amazing kindness.

My heart was racing, but my mind was calm and sound… I was enveloped in a mysterious feeling of peace.

“…You’re right. I’m sorry for saying such pathetic things.”

I’m so pathetic.

I’ve been complaining without a basis for it. Thinking that if I were her true mother… and repeating it as some sort of excuse to run away from my problems.

“…I’m also sorry. I got carried away with my beliefs.”

“No. Rather, Thank you, Takkun. Thanks to you, I feel a bit better.” I said smiling. “It’s weird… Your words… somehow have a way of piercing my heart so easily.”

His words echo in my heart deeper than any other person.

I’ve always thought it was strange… but I think I understand it a bit now.

It’s because Takkun is really worried about me.

That’s why his overflowing feelings reach the deepest part of my heart through his words.

“After all, Takkun… you’re really special to me.”

“…In what way?”

Excitedly, he looked at me.

And belatedly… I realized that I had said something pretty suggestive without meaning to.

“Eh… Ah, no, uhm… W-What I mean with special is not in a weird way! H-How to say it…” I desperately tried to come up with an excuse. “A-After all… we’ve known each other for so long. Since you’ve been looking at me until now, that means I can fully trust what you say in cases like these, that’s what I mean…”

“…Not just ‘until now’.”

While I kept making up excuses, he stepped forward and got close to me.

And then.

He grabbed my shoulders with both hands.

“Eh…?”

Suddenly, my heart skipped a beat.

Those were some big masculine hands.

But they were grabbing me tenderly and were trembling slightly.

In a dimly lit hallway.

His eyes looked straight at me.

His eyes were full of tension and anxiety, but his passion and determination far exceeded those.

“Ayako-san, if you allow me, I want it to be ‘from now on’… I want to be with you forever. Being together forever…”

“Takkun…”

I was attracted by the unbreakable light in his eyes. The sweet and ferocious words seemed to melt my heart and make my head feel dizzy, as if I was intoxicated.

“Ayako-san…”

He put a little more strength in his hands and pulled me closer to him.

I didn’t have any strength to resist him anymore.

I was now at his mercy.

““…””

We looked at each other in silence. One second, two seconds, three seconds… A mysterious flow of time, as if it were an eternal moment, enveloped us. I felt like we could understand each other’s thoughts without exchanging words.

There was no one here.

Only the summer night sky was looking at us.

In this case… maybe only for now, I could get rid of all appearances and excuses, and give myself up to the young man I had in front of me.

Little by little, Takkun’s face got closer and closer.

Without rejecting or resisting, I naturally closed my eyes and…

Tap, tap.

Suddenly, from the other side of the hallway, the sound of someone walking in slippers could be heard.

““~~~~?!””

We separated our bodies on reflex and took distance from one another.

The ones walking toward us… were an unknown around 40s couple. They should be hotel guests just like us. Whispering between each other, they walked by us.

I held my breath and waited for them to leave.

My heart… was beating terribly fast.

On the other side, my dizzy head cooled down rapidly.

“…”

One moment. Wait just one moment.

What was I just about to do now?!

What was I just about to do with Takkun now?!

T-That was close… way too close…! That flow wasn’t good at all… Everything happened so naturally that I let myself go in the moment. I felt as if I were drunk. For a moment I thought ‘I don’t care about what happens anymore.’

What was that?! What the hell was that?!

Is this what they call a Trip’s Magic?!

“…Ayako-san.”

“Y-Yes?”

I shuddered and turned around, and saw that his scary passion had already disappeared from his eyes.

Embarrassed and with great pain, Takkun said:

“It’s getting late, should we head back?”

“…Yes.” I nodded weakly.

Then the two of us returned to the room.

I felt relieved… but at the same time, a bit disappointed. A very complex mood.

I had lightened a bit the first worry that caused my sleeplessness, but now I couldn’t sleep for another reason.

←Previous Chapter TOC Next Chapter→

P.S. Trying to go over all my other dues right now, hence the delays.
P.S.S. There was a rick roll somewhere in the chapter that was intentional, but is still a proper way of translating that line.

4 thoughts on “Volume 3 Chapter 5

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started