Volume 4 Chapter 5

←Previous Chapter TOC Next Chapter→

The day after I started going out with Takkun.

That day, I was absent-minded since the morning.

Miu is a student and was still on vacations, but I’m a housewife and an adult worker, so I had to return to the usual routine right after the Obon holidays.

However… I got up at the same time Miu lazily got up, barely keeping herself awake.

I didn’t feel like cooking breakfast, so we simply ate cereal together.

“…What’s the matter, mom? You’re a bit off today,” Miu, who was sitting at the other side of the table, asked with a suspicious look.

We started eating together, but when I came to, she had already finished.

And I still had about half left.

If I didn’t eat my cereal soon, it would get soggy and would taste bad.

“…Am I?”

“Yes, and a lot.”

“Oh… I see. I guess I am off today.”

“Why are you so off? You just started officially dating Taku-nii.”

“…”

“I was going to record a video and send it to Taku-nii if you acted all excitedly, but with this mood, I won’t be able to do anything.”

“…”

“Although, well, I get what the problem is,” said Miu, shrugging her shoulders. “You’re thinking about Tokyo, aren’t you?”

“…Yes,” I nodded weakly.

I had talked about it with Miu to a certain point last night.

Yesterday, I was speaking with Oinomori-san on the phone…

“Work… in Tokyo?”

“Yes,” affirmed Oinomori-san with a serious tone.

It didn’t sound like a joke at all.

“It’s something I’ve been thinking about for a while. Ever since it was decided that KimiOsa will get an anime adaptation.”

KimiOsa, how the novel ‘I want to become your childhood friend’ is commonly known as. TL/N: Not completely sure if this is how it’s written, but I believe it’s 君の幼なじみになりたい (Kimi no osananajimi ni naritai).

It’s a work I’ve been in charge of and that will get an anime adaptation.

“As you know, Katsuragi-kun… when a light novel becomes an anime, there’s a lot of work for all the ones involved in the original work. The author, the illustrator… and the editor in charge.”

“…”

That… I already knew.

When the work one is in charge of becomes an anime, the workload for the editor in charge increases to an astounding level.

I don’t know how to explain it in few words, but there are many types of works that they have to do.

Besides cooperating with the novel’s author, the editor in charge originally plays a role as an intermediary that connects the author with the exterior.

And when a work is involved in the media world, the editor will always be the one who communicates with external companies.

And in the case of an anime… the amount of work that requires is enormous.

Sometimes the editor has to act as an intermediary or as a mediator between the two parties.

Besides the email and phone exchanges, it’s normal for the editor in charge to be present in script meetings, audio recordings, real life events, live broadcasts and many other things.

It’s an amount of work that you can only do if you live in Kanto…

“Of course, I understand your situation, Katsuragi-kun. That’s why, in the beginning I was thinking of letting you concentrate in the novel and transfer the work related to the anime to another person.”

“…”

“From the beginning, I’ve been skeptic about this system of letting all the work fall onto a single editor. It’s not uncommon for an editor to collapse from exhaustion due to the huge amount of work that an anime adaptation calls for. I’ve always wanted to transform this industry in which editors compete to see who spent the most days outside their home into something more reasonable and feasible.”

“…”

“That’s why I decided that it would be better to lighten the workload you’ll get from KimiOsa’s anime adaptation. I thought that it would be better to give priority to your life in Tohoku and your life with Miu-chan and not pressing you too much. But… then I started to wonder if that was really what was better for you.”

“What’s best for me…?”

“I thought that, as the editor in charge, you’d like to get completely involved in the KimiOsa anime,” said Oinomori-san. “No need to say that, other than Shirando-sensei, you are without a doubt, the person that knows the most about KimiOsa and that loves it the most as well. You’ve been working with Shirando-sensei ever since her debut, and you two together worked on this novel from the ground up until it became an anime.”

“…”

“Of course, we’re ready to do everything related to the anime without you. It’s just that… I thought that you, more than anyone else, would want to take part in this.”

I’d like to.

I’d like to be there to see how the work I’ve been working in from scratch becomes an anime.

“If you get involved in the anime, I’d be very thankful to you. It would be easier that way. And even though Shirando-sensei didn’t say it, I’m sure that she also wants to leave it in your hands. I think that it’s natural for her to want to leave something as important as an anime adaptation of her novel, which is like a son to her, in your hands, Katsuragi-kun, the person she trusts the most for this task.”

“…”

That may be the case…

Shirando-sensei is a very reasonable and reserved person, so she won’t say anything about it… but she’d probably like me to be in charge of the anime.

And above all else, I was also in pain with this.

We’ve been working together for such a long time in this novel and when it’s about to become an anime, we have to leave it in other people’s hands. Of course that would leave a bad taste in my mouth.

“…B-But, Oinomori-san,” I said.

I was still confused due to how sudden everything was, but I asked by reflex.

“Getting fully involved in the anime means…”

“Yes, that means moving here,” said Oinomori-san. “Of course, I don’t mean permanently. Although, I wouldn’t mind if you were to move here permanently, but I don’t think that’s an easy choice to make. So, for now, why don’t we try for three months?”

“Three months…”

“The company will provide you with housing. You won’t have to pay for it. So, if you are okay with it, I’d like for you to live in Tokyo for three months and do your best working in the anime.”

“…”

“Oh, I’m sorry. I dropped all of this at once,” softening her tone, Oinomori-san continued. “It’s natural for you to be confused in this case. I’m sorry for not telling you before. It would have been rude to tell you when nothing was decided, so I didn’t want to touch on the topic until all the preparations were done.”

“…”

“Katsuragi-kun, this isn’t an order. It’s just a crazy proposal. If you don’t want to, you’re free to refuse.”

I was speechless and Oinomori-san continued with eloquence.

“I want you to think about it before making a choice. Think about Miu-chan… and about your new boyfriend. In the end, you’re the only one who can decide what’s the most important in your life now.”

“If you decide to go, you’ll have to go at the start of next month… that means, next week, right?”

“…Yes,” I nodded in response to Miu. “Next month, there will be a reading meeting… uhm, a kind of meeting to talk about the script with the animation staff. If I want to participate, I must do it from the start.”

When a manga or novel receives an anime adaptation, one of the advices, or rather, a request the editor gives the author is…

‘Go all or nothing.’

Something like that.

Basically, if you’re going to get involved, do your absolute best and if you aren’t going to, then don’t get involved at all.

If you pick nothing, you won’t be a part of the anime at all.

You only answer questions they give you, only do work they ask you to do, you don’t get involved with the script or the voice acting casting at all, you simply leave everything in hands of the animation staff and you focus on the most important work, the original work.

And if you pick all, then you go all in.

You assist every weekly meeting and to the castings and recordings of the voice actors. If you get an idea, you talk about them and discuss it with the animation staff and do everything possible so that the anime becomes a success, of course, without neglecting the original work.

All or nothing, whichever you want.

But it’s better to not do anything in between.

This isn’t limited to the author, but also the editor.

The role of the editor in the anime production is fundamental.

If you’re going to get involved, you must do everything possible and if you can’t, it’s better to not get involved at all.

“Hmm. But this is still too sudden. This wouldn’t happen in a regular company, right? Only having a week to transfer.”

“There’s nothing normal in this industry,” I answered sarcastically.

Well, this is really sudden.

That’s why, just like Oinomori-san said, this isn’t an order, but a proposal.

The choice is mine.

If I refuse, there won’t be any punishments or repercussions on my salary or a future promotion.

In fact, I’m thankful.

They’re giving me a good opportunity.

Due to the fact that I don’t live in a metropolitan area and I have to do long distance work, which can be tricky, Oinomori-san gave me a great opportunity.

She gave me a great opportunity to get involved in the creation of the anime adaptation of the work I’m in charge of.

She was even kind enough to prepare a house for me to live in.

“Mom,” said Miu indifferently while I was engulfed in my thoughts. “I told you yesterday, but you don’t need to worry about me.”

“…”

“I can live on my own for 3 months.”

“…Absolutely not. If I move and leave you on your own, I’ll get worried.”

When Miu was in middle school, I left her alone for work related reasons several times.

Even then, the longest I’ve been out of home has been 2 nights and 3 days.

Of course, this would be the first time I’d be out for three months.

“I’ll be fine. Besides, you’re going to Tokyo, right? That’s only 2 hours away using the bullet train.”

“That’s…”

Well, It’s true.

It’s not like they’ll transfer me overseas, so I can return easily.

If I work hard, I could return home every weekend.

And probably, the company will pay for the bullet train tickets.

“I’m a high schooler, I can live on my own.”

“It’s too soon for a high school girl to live on her own.”

“Huh? Is it? There are many high school students that live on their own in the books you edit.”

“D-Don’t mix fiction and reality!”

Although well… there certainly are many!

The percentage of high school students that live on their own in mangas and light novels is too high.

The reasons are different for each work… but well, the main reason is to facilitate the development of the story.

Things would be far more complicated if parents were around.

But.

I never thought that I’d have to think about this situation from the point of view of the parents.

Uwaaa… I’m worried!

I’m very worried about leaving my high school daughter alone while I go away due to work!

When I worked in some story as an editor, I could easily suggest ‘why don’t we use the pattern of parents being overseas due to work? That way, you’ll have a lot more freedom’… But now that I have to live that, I can’t stop worrying my daughter!

Oh… I’m so sorry.

Parents of protagonists in many works I’ve been involved in… Please forgive me for sending you overseas so frivolously.

Next time, I’ll think about it carefully and with pain in my heart… I’ll send you overseas anyways.

“…If I decide to move, I’ll ask grandma to come here.”

It’s unlikely that she can live here for three months, but she can come by every once in a while, and check on how Miu is doing.

“You don’t trust me, huh… Well, that’s all right. Living with grandma also seems fun.

“…I do trust you,” I said. “I’m just worried about leaving you alone… but I also think you can survive alone for 3 months.”

Despite my daughter’s aspect, she’s unexpectedly reliable.

She usually doesn’t do it because she thinks it’s too bothersome, but she can basically do every single house chore and also cook. When I was out of the house due to work related matters, she cooked, did laundry, cleaned the house, ironed clothes and went to school.

She’s the kind of person that doesn’t do her homework until the last moment, but she has a good head over her shoulders and managed to have them ready before the due date.

She isn’t only reliable, but also smart.

I’ll try to return regularly and while my mom comes here to check up on her, I think Miu will be fine for 3 months.

“Hmm? Then, what’s the problem, mom?”

“…”

“This is the chance to do the job you want to do. What’s more, they’re even providing you lodging. It’s a super VIP treatment. If it isn’t about me, then why…” In the middle of her words, Miu made a face as if she had guessed something. “Oh, yeah, I see it now. I get the problem now. You now have an important boyfriend.”

“…”

I shuddered after hearing her words.

“Haah, this is quite shocking. I’m so embarrassed for thinking it was about me. I thought my dear mother was being overprotective with me, but I guess you were just worried about your brand-new boyfriend and didn’t care about your daughter at all, right?”

“T-That’s not it… I was also thinking about you! It’s just that… w-well, I was worried about many things, including Takkun.”

My voice was getting lower and lower as I went.

Miu let out a small sigh.

“The timing couldn’t be any worse. Right when you thought you’d finally start dating, what’s waiting for you is a long-distance relationship. Just like with you, so close, yet so far.”

“Uuh…”

That’s right.

If I went to Tokyo to work… Takkun and I will have a long-distance relationship right after we started dating.

Although, three months is certainly not a long time… but I’d like to not be separated for any time at all.

We just started dating!

We’re now supposed to be in a period to enjoy our relationship to the fullest!

I don’t have any experience with this, though, so I don’t know for sure!

Haah… what will he think about this?

The woman that beat around the bush so much and made him wait so long finally agreed to date, but immediately leaves for Tokyo due to work and will now have a long-distance relationship.

“Did you already tell Taku-nii?”

“…Not yet.”

“You should tell him as soon as possible. It’s important to discuss things like this with your husband.”

“H-He’s not my husband! He’s still only my boyfriend!” I replied and then nodded. “…But you’re right, I’ll speak with him about it today.”

It’s better to do it as soon as possible.

If I decide to go to Tokyo, I have to start getting mentally ready right now… and since it’s me, if I postpone it too long, I will probably postpone it forever.

So, it’s settled.

I’ll definitely talk to him about it today.

And right as I was thinking about setting up a meeting with him before my resolve waned down, my cellphone, which was in the table, vibrated.

The sender was the person I was about to call.

“It’s Takkun.”

“Hmm? That’s some synchronization. What did he say?”

“Let’s see…”

I read the message.

“He wants to meet up today?”

He began with a good morning greeting.

And then he asked me if I had time to meet up sometime during the day.

Hmm.

It’s rather sudden, I wonder if something happened.

For now, I’ll answer him.

“That’s fine, but, did something happen?”

Takkun replied back immediately.

“No, nothing in particular.”

“…Huh? What is the meaning of this? He wants to see me for no reason?”

Is this some sort of riddle?

While I was wondering what it was about, Miu said in shock and embarrassment, “No… it’s pretty clear. He just wants to see you.”

“…Huh? No, I get that part, but, for what reason…?”

“The reason is that he wants to see you.”

Hmm?

The reason is that he wants to see me?

That means he’s coming to see me just because he wants to…

“…H-Huhhh?! T-Then, Takkun… simply wants to see me?!”

“That’s right.”

“He wants to see me for no reason… It’s as if he was madly in love with me!”

“He is madly in love with you.”

“It’s as if he’s dying to see me!”

“He is dying to see you.”

In contrast to my flustered attitude, Miu answered coldly to everything.

“Until now, when Taku-nii wanted to see you, he needed to come up with some reason or excuse… but that’s not necessary anymore. You two are now a couple, so he doesn’t need an excuse to see you.”

I-Is that so?

A couple can see each other for no reason?

That’s great.

That’s like a free pass.

Then… I-Is it okay for me to call him just because I want to hear his voice?

Is it okay to do something so bold?

“Haah, I wonder what’s this I’m feeling. I was supporting your relationship, but… this, right here, this innocent relationship is too embarrassing to see,” said Miu with an indescribably complex expression. “Am I going to have to see you two flirt like this from now on? This is going to be hard.”

“D-Don’t say it’s going to be hard.”

It can’t be helped, he’s my first boyfriend.

The same applies to Takkun… We’re each other’s first couple!

It’s not surprising that our relationship is this innocent!

“Anyways!” Said Miu. “Since Taku-nii is coming, it’s a good chance. Talk to him about your transfer.”

“Yes, I’ll do that.”

“…And if you start hesitating at the last second and you can’t tell him, I’ll start to hate you for real, mom.”

“I-I understand.”

Looks like I’ve lost a lot of face.

←Previous Chapter TOC Next Chapter→

World hasn’t ended yet even though I’ve posted 3 times in a day. ~6.3k words to go.
Edit: Finally bought the volume and checked, the title of KimiOsa in japanese. It’s きみの幼馴染みになりたい (Kimi no osananajimi ni naritai). I completely nailed the title’s translation, I just wrote it differently.

9 thoughts on “Volume 4 Chapter 5

    1. Chapter 6 will most likely be out tomorrow, the epilogue will take a bit since I’m also preparing the epubs for volume 3 and 4, but the translation itself will be done tomorrow or the day after.

      Like

  1. Thanks for the update. You mentioned before that volume 5 is releasing in may, are you going to be translating that too?

    Like

      1. Thanks for the chapter..You’re really spoiling us with these chapter.I really hope you’ll continuing doing this title.Also wanted to let you know that we really appreciate you doing this for us ❤️❤️

        Like

  2. She needs to fuck him before she leaves because they won’t be able to meet for 3 months. But that’s not going to happen is it?

    Like

    1. They’re not having sex till she’s 40 at the rate this is going. Takkun is gonna be a step grandfather then him and ayako will finally hook up.

      Like

  3. “Then… I-Is it okay for me to call him just because I want to hear his voice?

    Is it okay to do something so bold?”

    What century is she living in?!?!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started